Fun Home's Lisa Kron Will Host Lilly Awards

News   Fun Home's Lisa Kron Will Host Lilly Awards
Lisa Kron, who wrote the book and lyrics of the critically acclaimed musical Fun Home, will host the sixth annual Lilly Awards ceremony.

Held June 1 at 5 PM, the awards will be presented at Playwrights Horizons. Following the ceremony, guests and honorees will attend a cocktail reception at the West Bank Cafe.

The Lilly Awards will honor the contributions made to the American theatre by women, as well as announce the $25,000 Stacey Mindich Prize, which funds a new work by a female playwright; and the Leah Ryan Prize, which awards an annual cash prize to an emerging woman playwright and produces a reading of the winning play in New York City.

The presenters and winners will be announced at a later date.

Read's interview with Kron and Tesori, about creating Fun Home, here.

Previous winners who have won the Lilly Award include Mary Rogers, Dominique Morisseau, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Jeanine Tesori, Liesl Tommy, Kelli O'Hara, Pam MacKinnon, Leigh Silverman, Anne Kauffman, Sarah Ruhl, Kristin Chenoweth, Annie Baker, Susan Stroman, Lynn Ahrens, Tina Fallon, Amy Herzog, Nina Arianda, Diane Paulus, Katori Hall, Tina Howe, Estelle Parsons, Lynne Meadow, Ntozake Shange, Jessica Hecht and Lois Smith. (3) Plays from the Kilroys' List: A Reading Series, a collaboration with the activist group The Kilroys, was presented in March 2015.

The Kilroys is named after the graffiti left by World War II soldiers and others to make their presence known.

They distributed The List in June 2014 after asking 127 playwrights, dramaturgs and artistic directors to recommend plays written by women that were among the best they had seen or read over the previous year but had one or no productions. Of the more than 300 plays that were recommended, 46 were selected.

Read's interview with Kilroys members Daria Polatin, Zakiyyah Alexander and Sarah Gubbins here.

Founded by Marsha Norman, Julia Jordan and Theresa Rebeck, the Lilly Awards Foundation's mission is to promote gender parity at all levels of theatrical production and develop and celebrate the work of women in the theatre.

Read's interview with Norman, about the efforts of the Lilly Awards to encourage equality in the theatre industry, here.

Playwrights Horizons is located at 416 West 42nd Street. Visit for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: