Glenn Close, Norbert Leo Butz, Marin Mazzie, Kelli O'Hara, David Hyde Pierce Will Celebrate John Lithgow | Playbill

News Glenn Close, Norbert Leo Butz, Marin Mazzie, Kelli O'Hara, David Hyde Pierce Will Celebrate John Lithgow The New 42nd Street will present its annual gala Jan. 12, 2015, at The New Victory Theater. The evening will honor Tony, Emmy and Golden Globe Award winner John Lithgow and the Rudin family.

Lithgow will be presented with the New Victory Arts Award for his work in "bringing kids to the arts and the arts to kids," and the Rudin family will be honored with the inaugural Marian Heiskell Award for their role in shaping the future of New York City.

Lithgow's Delicate Balance co-star Glenn Close will serve as gala honorary chair.

"John is a dear friend of The New Victory. He honored us when he performed his productions of A Lithgow Paloozical! and The Sunny Side of the Street on our stage, and he honors us again tonight by accepting the New Victory Arts Award for inspiring imagination in kids through his books, music and performances," said Cora Cahan, president of The New 42nd Street, in a statement.

The festivities will begin at 7 PM with cocktails and supper in the foyers of The Lyric Theatre, followed by a celebratory musical performance next door at The New Victory Theater with special appearances by Norbert Leo Butz, Joshua Henry, Marin Mazzie, Kelli O'Hara, David Hyde Pierce, Martha Plimpton and Sherie Rene Scott. Special remarks will be given by Carl Weisbrod and Jack O'Brien.

The New 42nd Street Gala provides critical support to New Victory Education programs. This year, 35,000 school kids from over 160 schools throughout the city will see a broad spectrum of international productions for just $2 per ticket; and the New Victory Usher Corps, the 2014 National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Award winner, will provide 20,000 hours of paid employment, mentoring and job training for 50 NYC youth. Kate Peck, a board member of The New 42nd Street, along with her husband Brad, co-chair the event with Isabel Rose, Philip J. Smith and Robert E. Wankel (The Shubert Organization), Diane and Marc Spilker, and Susan Stroman.

Presented to a person or organization whose concern for the well-being of children is matched by their belief that the arts and arts education stimulate imagination and creativity, the New Victory Arts Award was first presented to Tony Award-winning stage and screen actor and new vaudevillian Bill Irwin, who also serves on the New 42nd Street Board.

Inspired by the spirit of New 42nd Street founding board chairman, the Marian Heiskell Award celebrates "extraordinary individuals whose leadership and foresight help shape the future of NYC." With one of the largest and most respected privately owned real estate portfolios in the city, the Rudin family's extensive holdings are matched only by their work in philanthropic and civic affairs. Through prolific contributions of time, talent and financial resources, the family has fortified hundreds of New York's artists, cultural organizations and not-for-profit groups.

For more information and tickets, contact Bari Lasky at [email protected] or call (646) 223-3085.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!