Godspell Broadway Revival Cast Album Released Digitally Dec. 20 | Playbill

News Godspell Broadway Revival Cast Album Released Digitally Dec. 20
The cast album of the Broadway revival of Godspell, featuring Hunter Parrish, Lindsay Mendez, Telly Leung and Wallace Smith, is available for digital download from Ghostlight Records beginning Dec. 20.

Wallace Smith and Hunter Parrish in the recording studio
Wallace Smith and Hunter Parrish in the recording studio Photo by Jeremy Daniel

Produced by Schwartz, Michael Holland, Kurt Deutsch and executive producer Ken Davenport (who also produces the revival), the 18-track recording will be released in stores Jan. 31, 2012. (For other Godspell items, visit The Playbill Store.)

The album reflects all of Schwartz's pop-inflected score, as well as two additional bonus tracks, including "Beautiful City" (performed by John Ondrasik of the band Five for Fighting) and an "After Hours" take on "Learn Your Lessons Well," featuring cast members Leung, Mendez and Smith.

Michael Holland penned the new arrangements for this latest incarnation of Godspell. A highlight of the production's new musical palette is a plaintively arresting take on "Beautiful City."

Godspell began previews Oct. 13 at the Circle in the Square Theatre and officially opened on Broadway Nov. 7 under the direction of Daniel Goldstein. The cast and band recorded the cast album Nov. 8 and 14.

"I'm so happy with this recording," composer-lyricist Schwartz said in a statement. "Not only do I love the new arrangements by Michael Holland, but this may be the best-singing cast in the history of Godspell!" The track listing for Godspell follows:

1. Tower of Babble (Company)
2. Prepare Ye (Wallace Smith and Company)
3. Save the People (Hunter Parrish and Company)
4. Day by Day (Anna Maria Perez de Tagle and Company)
5. Learn Your Lessons Well (Celisse Henderson and Company)
6. Bless the Lord (Lindsay Mendez and Company)
7. All for the Best (Hunter Parrish, Wallace Smith and Company)
8. All Good Gifts (Telly Leung and Company)
9. Light of the World (George Salazar and Company)
10. Turn Back, O Man (Morgan James and Company)
11. Alas for You (Hunter Parrish)
12. By My Side (Uzo Aduba and Company)
13. We Beseech Thee (Nick Blaemire and Company)
14. Beautiful City (Hunter Parrish)
15. On the Willows (Wallace Smith and the Band)
16. Finale (Hunter Parrish and Company)

The 2011 revival cast features Parrish (Spring Awakening, "Weeds") as Jesus, Smith (American Idiot) as Judas, as well as Mendez (Everyday Rapture, Grease), Leung (Rent, "Glee"), Uzo Aduba (Coram Boy), Nick Blaemire (Cry-Baby), Celisse Henderson ("The Electric Company," In Transit), Morgan James (Wonderland, The Addams Family), Anna Maria Perez de Tagle ("Hannah Montana," "Fame") and George Salazar (Spring Awakening national tour).

Godspell is produced by Ken Davenport, Hunter Arnold, Broadway Across America, Luigi Caiola, Rose Caiola, Edgar Lansbury, Mike McClernon, The Tolchin Family, Guillermo Wiechers & Juan Torres and The People of Godspell. Associate producers include Dennis Grimaldi Production, Todd Miller, Pivot Entertainment Group, Chris Welch and Cedric Yau.

Tickets are $125 for all performances except Saturday evenings, which are $135. Tickets are available by calling Telecharge.com at (212) 239-6200 or by visiting www.telecharge.com/godspell.  Circle in the Square Theater is located at 1633 Broadway at 50th Street.

Visit Godspell.com for more information.

View highlights from the show:


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!