Grammy Nominee Karrin Allyson's Rodgers & Hammerstein CD Hits Stores Today; Listen to Exclusive Track

News   Grammy Nominee Karrin Allyson's Rodgers & Hammerstein CD Hits Stores Today; Listen to Exclusive Track
Four-time Grammy-nominated singer/keyboardist Karrin Allyson rolls out her new CD of Rodgers & Hammerstein hits, titled "Many a New Day (Karrin Allyson Sings Rodgers & Hammerstein)," Sept. 18.

Accompanied by pianist Kenny Barron and bassist John Patitucci, Allyson releases the CD on the  Motéma label, but has made a track available exclusively to

The 14-song collection includes standards from R&H Broadway hits Oklahoma!, South Pacific, The King and I and The Sound of Music.

Check out the clip of the title song here:



Allyson wrote, "I feel powerfully drawn to the world of Rodgers and Hammerstein, because of the classic American stories and the gorgeous melodies. It’s near perfect music.”

She said, “I first got the idea to do this while watching an 'American Masters' program about Oscar Hammerstein. I was so moved by his personal life, such a decent man, who stood up for his beliefs... and wrote about them in his lyrics. (Yes-- they are so tremendously romantic too).  I realized that now would be a perfect time to do these songs – innocent yet wise, hopeful yet nobody's fool, calling us ever forward to be decent human beings. Sadly, the song ‘You’ve Got To Be Carefully Taught,” from South Pacific (a musical that was written with the intention to fight racism) still resonates all too well today.”

Recorded at Sear Sound in New York City on May 1 and 2, 2015, "Many a New Day" has arrangements by Allyson, was executive-produced by Jana Herzen and produced by Allyson in association with Grammy Award winner Michael Leonhart, known for his work with Steely Dan, Bobby McFerrin and most recently with Bruno Mars.

Here is a complete track list:

1. "Oh, What A Beautiful Morning"
2. "Many A New Day"
3. "Happy Talk"
4. "I Cain't Say No"
5. "I Have Dreamed"
6. "Out Of My Dreams"
7. "Bali H'ai"
8. "When I Think Of Tom"/"Hello Young Lovers"
9. "We Kiss In A Shadow"
10. "You've Got To Be Carefully Taught"
11. "Something Wonderful"
12. "Surrey With A Fringe On Top"
13. "Something Good"
14. "Edelweiss"
iTunes Bonus track: "This Nearly Was Mine"

The full album can be downloaded from iTunes or Amazon.

Today’s Most Popular News: