Hairspray, with Sieber, Froio and Walton, Begins at Cape Playhouse July 19

News   Hairspray, with Sieber, Froio and Walton, Begins at Cape Playhouse July 19
Christopher Sieber, Liz Froio and Jim Walton welcome the 60's in the Cape Playhouse production of the Tony Award-winning musical Hairspray, which begins performances July 19.
Christopher Sieber
Christopher Sieber Photo by Joan Marcus

Sieber, whose last Broadway appearance in Shrek found him costumed as the vertically challenged Lord Farquaad, stars as Edna Turnblad with Froio as Tracy and Walton as Wilbur.

Mark Martino directs the doo-wop fueled musical that has choreography by Denis Jones. Hairspray runs through Aug. 7. Jesse Vargas is musical director.

Hairspray also features Jim Newman as Corny Collins, Patti Murin as Amber Von Tussle, Travis Nesbitt as Link, Alex Ellis as Penny Pingleton, Susan Cella as Velma Von Tussle, Randy Aaron as Seaweed, Marsena Eunice Bowers as Little Inez, Inga Ballard as Motormouth Maybelle and Susan J. Jacks as Female Authority Figure.

The ensemble includes Christopher Messina, Daniel Bentley, Cedric Leiba Jr., Danielle Jordan, Tiffany Topol, Marjorie Failoni, Shelese Franklin, Steven Boyd Baker, Paige Williams and Curtis Schroeger.

Hairspray features a score by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman. Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan authored the book based on John Waters' film of the same title.

Hairspray opened on Broadway on Aug. 15, 2002. It won Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Score (Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman), Best Book (Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan), Best Actor in a Musical (Harvey Fierstein), Best Actress in a Musical (Marissa Jaret Winokur), Best Featured Actor in a Musical (Dick Latessa), Best Direction of a Musical (Jack O'Brien) and Best Costume Design (William Ivey Long).

For tickets, phone (508) 385-3911 or visit CapePlayhouse. The Cape Playhouse is located in Dennis, MA.

Today’s Most Popular News: