Hairspray's Winokur to Present First Six Tony Awards on Live Webcast | Playbill

Related Articles
Tony Awards Hairspray's Winokur to Present First Six Tony Awards on Live Webcast Marissa Jaret Winokur, who won a 2003 Tony Award for her performance in Hairspray, will present the first six 2004 Tony Awards.
Marissa Jaret Winokur
Marissa Jaret Winokur

The official Tony Awards website,, will offer exclusive live video of the first six awards, which include Best Scenic Design, Best Costume Design, Best Lighting Design and Best Orchestrations as well as the Regional Theatre Tony Award (Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park), and the Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre (to James M. Nederlander). The presentation of the awards will begin at 7:15 PM ET.

Nominees in the orchestration and design categories follow:

Best Scenic Design
Robert Brill, Assassins
Ralph Funicello, Henry IV
Eugene Lee, Wicked
Tom Pye, Fiddler on the Roof

Best Costume Design
Jess Goldstein, Henry IV
Susan Hilferty, Wicked
Mike Nicholls and Bobby Pearce, Taboo
Mark Thompson, Bombay Dreams

Best Lighting Design
Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, Assassins
Brian MacDevitt, Fiddler on the Roof
Brian MacDevitt, Henry IV
Kenneth Posner, Wicked
Best Orchestrations
Paul Bogaev, Bombay Dreams
William David Brohn, Wicked
Michael Starobin, Assassins
Larry Hochman, Fiddler on the Roof

The Tony site will also offer live access to the red-carpet arrivals, beginning at 6 PM ET.

Marissa Jaret Winokur won the 2003 Tony Award for Best Actress in a Musical for her performance as Tracy Turnblad in Hairspray. She also appeared on Broadway in the hit revival of Grease! as well as the L.A. Reprise production of Hair. Winokur portrayed Janine in the Oscar winning film “American Beauty" and has also been seen in “Teaching Mrs. Tingle,” “Never Been Kissed,” “Scary Movie,” “Dharma & Greg,” “Moesha,” “Just Shoot Me,” “Boston Public,” “The Ellen Show,” “Felicity,” “Nikki,” “Steve Harvey,” “Get Real” and “Curb: Your Enthusiasm.”

The 58th Annual Tony Awards will be presented at Radio City Music Hall. Hosted by The Boy From Oz's Hugh Jackman, CBS will broadcast the event live, 8-11 PM ET. The winners of the aforementioned categories will also be announced in a segment during the CBS broadcast.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!