Irene Sharaff Awards to Honor Robin Wagner and Lewis Brown

News   Irene Sharaff Awards to Honor Robin Wagner and Lewis Brown
Tony Award-winning scenic designer Robin Wagner and late costume designer Lewis Brown will be honored during the 2011 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards, which will be presented April 8 at the Hudson Theatre.

Robin Wagner
Robin Wagner

Wagner, who designed the original Broadway production of Hair and earned Tony Awards for his work on The Producers, City of Angels and On the Twentieth Century, will receive the L.B. Tobin Award for Sustained Excellence in Theatrical Design.

Brown, whose first Broadway production was the 1967 production Marat/Sade, designed extensively for the Old Globe in San Diego. His colleague Albert Wolsky will accept the TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award on his behalf.

TDF will also honor costume designer Olivera Gajic with the TDF/Irene Sharaff Young Master Award, and theatre costume house Michael-John Costumes will be presented with the TDF/Irene Sharaff Artisan Award.

The 6:30 PM ceremony will also offer a memorial tribute to late designer Charles LeMaire, with a short film on his life, created by designer Suzy Benzinger and director Drew Scott Harris.

Founded in 1993, the awards pay tribute to the art of costume design and honor legendary designer Irene Sharaff, who designed numerous Broadway productions, including the original stagings of Lady in the Dark, West Side Story, The King and I, Juno, Sweet Charity, Funny Girl, Candide and Jerome Robbins' Broadway.

For further information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: