Jackman, Danner and More Vie for Emmy Awards at Aug. 27 Ceremony | Playbill

News Jackman, Danner and More Vie for Emmy Awards at Aug. 27 Ceremony
Stage and screen actors Annette Bening, Megan Mullally, Edie Falco, James Gandolfini, Felicity Huffman, Matthew Perry, Jeffrey Tambor, John Lithgow and more present at the 58th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards where their stage brethren compete for the television honors.

Stage veteran and Emmy nominee for
Stage veteran and Emmy nominee for "The West Wing," Alan Alda Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The 58th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will be announced on the Aug. 27 telecast on NBC as hosted by Conan O'Brien.

The list of presenters also includes Craig Ferguson, Sean Hayes, Katherine Heigl, Virginia Madsen, Howie Mandel, and Tom Selleck, Stephen Colbert, Patrick Dempsey, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Tina Fey, Dennis Haysbert, Jason Lee, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Heidi Klum, Hugh Laurie, Evangeline Lilly, Eva Longoria, Wentworth Miller, Helen Mirren, William Petersen, Jamie Pressley, Ellen Pompeo, Jon Stewart, Kiefer Sutherland, Bradley Whitford, Charlie and Martin Sheen, Candice Bergen, Ray Liotta, Simon Cowell and Bob Newhart.

Some winners were already announced Aug. 19 as part of the 2005-2006 Creative Arts Primetime Emmys. Cloris Leachman (South Pacific) and Patricia Clarkson (Eastern Standard, Three Days of Rain) were honored in the Guest Actress categories — comedy ("Malcolm in the Middle") and drama ("Six Feet Under"), respectively. Stage actor Leslie Jordan (Like a Dog on Linoleum) won Guest Actor in a Comedy for NBC's "Will & Grace."

Music director and conductor Paul Gemignani earned an Emmy for his work on PBS' Great Performances presentation of South Pacific in Concert from Carnegie Hall. The concert version of the Rodgers and Hammerstein musical will also compete in the Outstanding Special Class Program.

Disney Channel's popular "High School Musical" won an Emmy honor for Kenny Ortega's Outstanding Choreography for a Miniseries (with fellow choreographers Charles Klapow and Bonnie Story) as well as for Outstanding Children's Program. *

Among the honors yet to be revealed, Hugh Jackman earned an Emmy nomination for Individual Performance in a Variety or Music Program for his hosting duties at the 59th Annual Tony Awards (2005).

Most of the acting categories include nominees who have trod the boards. Stockard Channing (Joe Egg, Six Degrees of Separation) earns a nomination in the Lead Actress in a Comedy category for "Out of Practice." Frances Conroy (The Ride Down Mt. Morgan) and Allison Janney (A View from the Bridge) are up for Lead Actress in a Drama Series for their work in "Six Feet Under" and "The West Wing," respectively.

For Lead Actor in a Comedy, "Monk" star Tony Shalhoub (Conversations With My Father) is among the nominees. "Six Feet Under" star Peter Krause (After the Fall) competes with "The West Wing" president Martin Sheen (The Subject Was Roses) in the Lead Actor in a Drama category.

Kathy Bates ('night, Mother) — for "Ambulance Girl" — and Annette Bening (The Cherry Orchard) — for "Mrs. Harris" — will battle for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries Or a Movie.

Oliver Platt, recent star of Shining City, was noted for his "Huff" performance in the Supporting Actor in a Drama category. He will vie for the honor with "The Sopranos" star and Studio Dante founder Michael Imperioli and recent Glengarry Glen Ross actor Alan Alda for his work on "The West Wing."

Alfre Woodard (Drowning Crow) gets a nomination for her work on "Desperate Housewives" in Actress in a Comedy while Megan Mullally (How To Succeed in Business...) also takes one for her final season in "Will & Grace." Woodard is also nominated in the Supporting Actress in a Movie or Miniseries category for "The Water is Wide."

Recent Off-Broadway star Sandra Oh (Satellites) and her "Grey's Anatomy" co star Chandra Wilson (Caroline, or Change) placed with Blythe Danner (Follies) for "Huff" and fellow stage star Jean Smart (The Man Who Came to Dinner) for "24" in the Supporting Actress in a Drama category.

Other Emmy nominees of interest to theatre folk include Jeremy Irons (A Little Night Music), Ellen Burstyn (Same Time, Next Year) and Swoosie Kurtz (Frozen).

The complete list of Primetime Emmy nominations and other Academy news and information is available at the Academy's website, located at http://www.emmys.tv.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!