Joey DeFrancesco Album Debuts on Billboard Jazz Chart

Classic Arts News   Joey DeFrancesco Album Debuts on Billboard Jazz Chart
Organic Vibes, the latest album from Hammond organ virtuoso Joey DeFrancesco, debuted on the Billboard jazz chart this week at number 17.

The album features vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, saxophonists George Coleman and Ron Blake, guitarist Jake Langley, and drummer Byron Landham. It includes originals by DeFrancesco and Hutcherson as well as such standards as "Speak Low" and "My Foolish Heart."

Also new to the chart were a compilation of Lou Rawls' jazz and blues recordings on Capitol at number 18, saxophonist Odeon Pope's Locked & Loaded: Live at the Blue Note at number 24, and drummer Manu Katch_'s Neighbourhood at number 25,

Michael Bubl_'s It's Time continued its lengthy stay at the top of the chart, with Chris Botti's To Love Again: The Duets again at number two and Bubl_'s Caught in the Act at number three.

On the contemporary-jazz chart, Herbie Hancock's Possibilities remained at number one. New entries included saxophonist Pamela Williams' Elixir, at number three, and guitarist and bandleader Sondre Lerche's Duper Sessions at number five.

Recommended Reading: