Judges Announced for 58th Annual Obie Awards | Playbill

News Judges Announced for 58th Annual Obie Awards
Judges have been announced for the 58th Annual Village Voice Obie Awards, which will be presented May 20, 2013, at Webster Hall.

Obie Awards Chairman Brian Parks, the Arts and Culture editor of The Village Voice, announced he will be joined on the Obie Awards panel by Michael Feingold, the Voice’s chief theatre critic, a two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist, and a theatre dramaturge; Alexis Soloski, a Post-Doctoral Lecturer in Literature Humanities at Columbia; Erin Courtney, an Obie Award–winning playwright for her work A Map of Virtue; Mia Katigbak, an award-winning artistic producing director and co-founder of the New York City–based, 22-year-old NAATCO (National Asian American Theatre Company); Tom Sellar, editor of Theater magazine, published by the Yale School of Drama, where he is also professor of dramaturgy and dramatic criticism; and Leigh Silverman, who won a double directing Obie Award in 2011 for her work on Lisa Kron's In the Wake (The Public Theater) and David Greenspan's Go Back to Where You Are (Playwrights Horizons). Founded in 1955 by Voice cultural editor Jerry Tallmer, The Village Voice Obie Awards annually honor the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. Unlike most theatre awards, the Obies do not publicize nominations or employ rigid categories. In the "conviction that creativity is not competitive, the judges select outstanding artists and productions and may even invent new categories to reward artistic merit," according to press notes.

Further details about the ceremony, including the names of the co-hosts and presenters, along with information about how to purchase tickets, will be forthcoming.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!