Kate Baldwin's "She Loves Him" CD Gets Concert Event July 14; Track Listing Announced

News   Kate Baldwin's "She Loves Him" CD Gets Concert Event July 14; Track Listing Announced
Kate Baldwin's new recording, "She Loves Him: Live at Feinstein's," her tribute to Fiddler on the Roof lyricist Sheldon Harnick, will be celebrated at a release event July 14 at Feinstein's at Loews Regency, where she and special guest Harnick sang his songs earlier this year.

Cover art for Kate Baldwin's new album.
Cover art for Kate Baldwin's new album.

The album from PS Classics was recorded live at Feinstein's in March. The nightspot will continue its summer 2011 season with a specially-priced CD-release concert event 8:30 PM July 14. Her CD boasts the lyrics (and some music) of the Tony Award-winning Harnick, who will appear as a guest star in the 30-minute concert. For this special event, all tickets — which include a copy of the disc, a ticket to the show, and, if desired, an invite to the VIP after-party — will be sold exclusively through PSClassics.com.

The show takes place at the Loews Regency Hotel (540 Park Avenue at 61st Street).

For $24.95, patrons receive one ticket to the show, in addition to a copy of the CD. For $29.95, patrons receive two tickets to the show, in addition to a copy of the CD. For $34.95, a patron receives one ticket to the show, a copy of the CD and an invite to the VIP after-party to meet Baldwin and Harnick and join them for a champagne toast. For $39.95, you receive two tickets to the show, a copy of the CD and an invite for two to the VIP after-party for a meeting and champagne toast.

There is an additional two-drink minimum at all price levels. Jackets are suggested but not required.

The disc features liner notes by journalist Frank Rich. The recording's official release date is July 12. Here's the track listing for "She Loves Him":

1. He Loves Me
2. "Good evening..."
3. The Boston Beguine
4. "What a daredevil..."
5. When Did I Fall in Love?
6. A Trip to the Library
7. "My favorite Sheldon Harnick show..."
8. Will He Like Me?
9. The Ballad of the Shape of Things
10. "Be kind to this Irish girl..."
11. Fiddler on the Roof medley
Sabbath Prayer
Far From the Home I Love
12. To Life
13. If I Were a Rich Man
14. "Jerry Bock and I wrote a song..."
15. Dear Sweet Sewing Machine
16. "Cy Coleman and I had a meeting..."
17. You're Going Far
18. Gorgeous
19. "He drew from very personal images..."
20. I Couldn't Be with Anyone But You
21. "It's time to start saying goodnight..."
22. In My Own Lifetime
23. Sunrise, Sunset


Baldwin, a 2010 Best Actress Tony nominee for Finian's Rainbow, made her solo-recording debut with "Let's See What Happens," also from PS Classics, the label devoted to the heritage of Broadway musicals and American popular song.

Recorded live in March 2011 at New York City's Feinstein's at Loews Regency, She Loves Him: Kate Baldwin Sings Sheldon Harnick is dedicated to the songs of Sheldon Harnick and includes favorites from Harnick's biggest hits Fiddler on the Roof, She Loves Me and Fiorello!, as well as rarely-heard selections from his early Off-Broadway career, film scores and unproduced musicals.


The She Loves Him recording — featuring music director Scott Cady at the piano, Andrew Sterman on woodwinds and John Beale on bass — is produced by Grammy-winner David Frost and mixed by Tom Lazarus. Executive producers are Jeff Berger and PS Classics co-founder Philip Chaffin.

Harnick's special appearance, joining Baldwin for several selections, is also preserved on the disc. She Loves Him appeared at Feinstein's March 8-12. Read a PlayBlog account of a performance of She Loves Him.

Baldwin, who has also appeared on PS Classics' cast albums of Kitty's Kisses, Finian's Rainbow and Life Begins at 8:40, told Playbill.com, "I first met Sheldon when I was in college and have been charmed ever since. In 2008, I had the terrific thrill of playing Amalia in She Loves Me and was so moved by the tremendous humor, fragility and frank poetry in the lyrics. I don't think there's any writer who better combines passion and sweetness with an awareness of life's absurdity. I'm so thrilled that the week Sheldon and I shared at Feinstein's has been preserved as a tribute to his great gift."

Harnick added, "I love Kate's voice and the intelligence that shapes her performances. So you can imagine how delighted I was when she told me that she wanted to do a program of my work at Feinstein's. No one had ever done that before and to have her do it was wonderfully exciting…"

Aside from cast albums and the recording made of his Lyrics & Lyricists program at New York's 92nd Street Y, She Loves Him is the first recording devoted entirely to Sheldon Harnick's work, according to PS Classics. Read Playbill.com's recent "Harnick on Harnick" feature, in which the writer reflects on his career and collaborators.

Baldwin made her Broadway debut in The Full Monty in 2001, followed by appearances in Thoroughly Modern Millie and Wonderful Town. She was nominated for the Helen Hayes Award for her portrayal of Nellie Forbush in the 2002 Arena Stage production of South Pacific. Additional credits include The Sound of Music and The Music Man at The Muny in St. Louis, Missouri and Charlotte in A Little Night Music at Centre Stage in Baltimore. Baldwin played the role of Sharon in the 2009 Encores! staged concert production of Finian's Rainbow, the expanded version of which moved to Broadway.

In October 2009, Baldwin released her first solo album, "Let's See What Happens," a compilation of songs written by Burton Lane and E.Y. Harburg.

Harnick's first song in a Broadway show was "The Boston Beguine" in New Faces of 1952, which Baldwin sang at Feinstein's and the Allen Room in early 2011. He was his own composer for a time, and later teamed with composer Jerry Bock on The Body Beautiful (1958), the Pulitzer Prize-winning Fiorello! (1959), Tenderloin (1960), She Loves Me (1963), the Tony Award-winning Fiddler on the Roof (1964), The Apple Tree (1966) and The Rothschilds (1970). Harnick's other collaborators in musical theatre have included Michel Legrand, Mary Rodgers, Richard Rodgers and Joe Raposo.


Founded in 2000 by Tommy Krasker & Philip Chaffin, and a six-time Grammy nominee (for its cast albums of Assassins, Nine: The Musical, Grey Gardens, Company, A Little Night Music and Sondheim on Sondheim), PS Classics celebrates the heritage of Broadway and American popular song through its award-winning cast recordings; solo albums by Maureen McGovern, Victoria Clark, Jessica Molaskey and Christine Andreas, among others; and recordings drawn from rare sound archives, including "Sondheim Sings." Upcoming releases include studio cast albums of the Gershwins' 1930 Strike Up the Band and the long-lost Vernon Duke/Ogden Nash musical Sweet Bye and Bye.

Visit www.psclassics.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: