Kate Burton, Nikka Graff Lanzarone Among New Members of Actors' Equity National Council

Industry News   Kate Burton, Nikka Graff Lanzarone Among New Members of Actors' Equity National Council
A total of 16 seats were filled in the union's 2017 election.
Kate Burton Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Actors' Equity has announced the results of its 2017 National Council election, which has filled one National Officer seat and 15 Councillor seats across three categories of the union (Principal Actor, Chorus Actor, and Stage Manager).

Eastern Regional Vice President Melissa Robinette was elected to serve the final year of her three-year term as First Vice President in the Principal category.

NIkka Graff Lanzarone Marc J. Franklin

Kate Burton, who can currently be seen in the Broadway revival of Present Laughter, was elected Principal Councillor in the Western Region alongside Barbara Callander. They join incumbents Heather Lee and Vernon Willet, who were both re-elected into the position as well. The region also welcomes Michael A. Shepperd in the Chorus category.

Meanwhile, Nikka Graff Lanzarone (Sweet Charity) and Manoel Felciano (Amélie) filled two Chorus Actor seats in the Eastern Region.

The Eastern Region also welcomes four new Principal Actor Councillors: Kellie Overbey, Claire Karpen, Carson D. Elrod, and Jeffrey Omura. They join incumbent Christine Toy Johnson. Erin Maureen Koster joins incumbent Lisa Dawn Cave as Stage Manager Councillors for the region.

In the Central Regional, Wydetta Carter, formerly a non-councillor board member, was elected Councillor in the Principal Actor category.

The 15 Equity Members elected to the regional Councillor seats above will serve three-year terms.

Actors' Equity Association represents more than 51,000 actors and stage managers across the country.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: