Kevin Spacey to Receive Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement Award; Denis Leary to Present | Playbill

Kevin Spacey to Receive Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement Award; Denis Leary to Present
John Martello, executive director of The Players, has announced that two-time Academy Award winner Kevin Spacey will be presented with the Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement Award.

Kevin Spacey
Kevin Spacey Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Spacey will be presented with the award at a special fundraising gala at the landmarked Gramercy Park Club in New York City Jan. 10.

In a statement Martello said, "The Players Foundation for Theatre Education is an organization devoted to promoting the arts and its ability to enrich lives. Kevin’s work thus far as an actor, director, producer, singer, patron of the arts, and educator is the embodiment of everything Edwin Booth did and the Players Foundation and the Club still do strive to represent."

Actor Denis Leary, who has appeared with Spacey in multiple motion pictures, will present the award to Spacey. Stephen Baldwin, who co-starred with Spacey in “The Usual Suspects,” will also attend.

Classical actor Edwin Booth founded The Players in 1888. The Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement Award honors a theatre luminary for his/her body of work. Past recipients include Edward Albee, Angela Lansbury, Helen Hayes, Jose Ferrer, Jack Lemmon, Christopher Plummer, Marian Seldes and Jason Robards (to whom Spacey presented the Booth Award).

Tickets to the black-tie optional event are available for $250 ($150 is tax deductible); RSVP at (212) 475-6116. Cocktails begin at 6 PM.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!