Kristin Hanggi Will Direct Beach Boys Musical Surf; Lauren Zakrin, Adrian Zmed, Robert Torti to Star | Playbill

Related Articles
News Kristin Hanggi Will Direct Beach Boys Musical Surf; Lauren Zakrin, Adrian Zmed, Robert Torti to Star Marshal Kennedy Carolan, Lauren Zakrin, Adrian Zmed, Todd Buonopane and Tony Award nominee Robert Torti are part of the Beach Boys production, Surf the Musical, which will make waves at the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino this summer in Las Vegas.

Lauren Zakrin
Lauren Zakrin

Tony Award-nominated Rock of Ages director Kristin Hanggi stages the 90-minute juke-box musical that uses the songs of the Beach Boys for its score. J. Burton Gold and Jason Setterlund are the authors. Surf will debut June 22. Rehearsls are currently underway in Las Vegas.

RJ Durell is choreographer, with Ed Hamilton as musical director.

Here's how it's characterized: "Surf the Musical highlights the fun and energy felt in the music of The Beach Boys and the integrity of the music is always maintained. From RJ Durell's celebratory choreography to the fun and flirty costumes, the show transports audiences back to a sunny time when a surfboard and some great tunes were all that was needed to have a good time. With Surf the Musical, Hanggi takes the classic beach party concept, and gives it a modern and relate-able feel, encouraging audiences to fall in love again."

In addition to Carolan (Hair, Mamma Mia!), Zakrin (Legally Blonde, Wicked), Zmed (Grease, "Grease 2," Children of Eden), Bunopane (Spelling Bee..., "30 Rock") and Torti (Starlight Express, Joseph...), the cast includes Riley Costello (13, Everyday Rapture), Alex Ringler (A Chorus Line, West Side Story), Nick Daldon (Hairspray, Hair), Tiffany Daniels (The Color Purple), Julie Kotidares (A Chorus Line), Colt Prattes, Joseph J. Simeone (The Phantom of the Opera, West Side Story), Cassie Simone, Nikkia Tuazon ("Glee"), Jonathan Walker White, Bryan Anthony, Joseph Corella (All Shook Up, Grease), Brooke Engen (Hairspray, Gypsy), Tiffany Engen (Legally Blonde), Ryan Koss (Soul Doctor, Lucky Guy), Chi Lopes, Trevor Lortiz, Rob Peters, Christie Portera, Rhapsody, Amu Ryerson and Warren Vanover.

Surf has aerial design and choreography by Dreya Weber, scenic design by Tony nominee Beowulf Boritt, costume design by Tony nominee Gregory Gale, lighting design by Tony winner Howell Binkley, video and projection design by Darrel Maloney, and hair and makeup by Tom Watson. Surf the Musical is produced by J. Burton Gold, Michael Ingram and Skip Klintworth.

For tickets, visit or phone (800) 745-3000.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!