Kristin Scott Thomas, John Hurt, James Corden, Sheridan Smith and More Honored in Queen's New Year's Honors | Playbill

News Kristin Scott Thomas, John Hurt, James Corden, Sheridan Smith and More Honored in Queen's New Year's Honors Kristin Scott Thomas has been made a dame, and John Hurt has been knighted in the annual Queen's New Year's Honors list announced by Buckingham Palace, both for "services to drama." Other theatrical honorees include James Corden, Sheridan Smith, Meera Syal and Barrie Rutter, noted stage designers Es Devlin and Tom Piper and directors Paul Kerryson and Jude Kelly.

James Corden
James Corden Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

They are amongst a total of 1,164 people to be honored, three-quarters of whom have been recognized for work in their communities.

Thomas, who is to return to the West End's Apollo in Peter Morgan's The Audience in April  — inheriting the role of Queen Elizabeth II originated by Helen Mirren — has become a theatrical regular in recent years, also appearing this year in the title role of Sophocles' Electra at the Old Vic. She has also been seen in Ian Rickson’s productions of The Seagull, Betrayal and Old Times, Jonathan Kent’s production of As You Desire Me and Michael Blakemore’s production of Three Sisters. She subsequently reprised The Seagull at Broadway's Walter Kerr Theatre.

Hurt was last seen on the London stage in Brian Friel's Afterplay that transferred from Dublin's Gate Theatre. As well as an extensive stage career, he has been Oscar-nominated for his film appearances in "Midnight Express" and "The Elephant Man."

Corden and Smith, who appeared together on the TV sitcom "Gavin and Stacey," both received OBEs. They both have extensive stage credits. Corden was one of the original cast of Alan Bennett's The History Boys and starred in the original production of One Man, Two Guvnors, both of which he subsequently reprised on Broadway. Smith is a double Olivier Award winner, whose credits have included Little Shop of Horrors, Legally Blonde the Musical, Flare Path and Hedda Gabler.

Syal, who has received a CBE, is currently appearing at the National Theatre in Behind the Beautiful Forevers. Rutter, who has received an OBE, is the founder and artistic director of Northern Broadsides and is to play the title role of King Lear in a new production for the company directed by Jonathan Miller that will begin performances at Halifax's Viaduct Theatre Feb. 27, 2015. Devlin, who won an Olivier Award for her designs for Chimerica, has been awarded an OBE for services to stage and set design. Piper was awarded an MBE for services to theatre and First World War commemorations, specifically his work on the Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red installation at the Tower of London.

Kerryson, who recently stepped down as artistic director of Leicester's Curve after 23 years at the helm of the Haymarket and Curve Theatres, was awarded an MBE, and Jude Kelly, artistic director of the Southbank Centre, was awarded a CBE. 

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!