Larson Grants, Honoring Lerman, Maté, Kooman and Dimond, Handed Out March 9

News   Larson Grants, Honoring Lerman, Maté, Kooman and Dimond, Handed Out March 9
The March 9 presentation of the 2010 Jonathan Larson Grants will include performances of the recipients' work by Brian d'Arcy James, Kerry Butler and Julia Murney.

Brian d'Arcy James
Brian d'Arcy James

Brad Bass, John Eric Parker and Ephraim Sykes, all from Broadway's Memphis, will perform a rarely heard Jonathan Larson song.

The grants, given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers, help to continue Tony Award-winning composer Jonathan Larson's dream of "infusing musical theatre with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality."

As previously announced, Peter Lerman, Daniel Maté and songwriting team Michael Kooman (music) and Christopher Dimond (book and lyrics) were selected to receive the 2010 grants, totaling $10,000.


This year's recipients were selected by a panel consisting of Robyn Goodman (Tony Award-winning producer, In the Heights), Tom Kitt (Tony Award-winning composer of Next to Normal), Kathleen Marshall (Tony Award-winning choreographer of The Pajama Game) and Stephen Schwartz (Tony Award-nominated composer-lyricist, Wicked).

"Dedicated to celebrating excellence and supporting theatre, the American Theatre Wing awards the Larson Grants to artists to recognize and showcase their work with no strings attached — except to put it to the best use possible to help further the artist's creative endeavors," according to ATW.

Past recipients of the Larson Grants include Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Chad Beguelin & Matthew Sklar (The Wedding Singer), John Bucchino (A Catered Affair), Laurence O'Keefe (Bat Boy: The Musical) and Michael Korie (Grey Gardens).

The industry-only Larson presentations will be at the American Airlines Theatre, 227 W. 42nd Street, fifth floor, in New York City.

Today’s Most Popular News: