Line-Up for Sept. 25-26 National Alliance for Musical Theatre Announced | Playbill

News Line-Up for Sept. 25-26 National Alliance for Musical Theatre Announced
The songwriting teams and performers have been announced for the 17th Annual Festival of New Musicals' Songwriter Showcase.

The participants were selected from a pool of more than 100 applicants. Among the lucky are such recognized musical theatre composers as Jenny Giering, Andrew Lippa and Brian Crawley, as well as librettists Marsha Norman and Daniel Goldfarb. The eight selections for this year’s festival are:

Book and Lyrics by Robert Taylor and Richard Oberacker
Music by Richard Oberacker

Caraboo, Princess Of Javasu
Book by Marsha Norman
Lyrics by Beth Blatt
Music by Jenny Giering

The Funkentine Rapture
Book by Lee Summers and Ben Blake
Music and Lyrics by Lee Summers

I Love You Because
Book and Lyrics by Ryan Cunningham
Music by Joshua Salzman A Little Princess
Book and Lyrics by Brian Crawley
Music by Andrew Lippa

Meet John Doe
Book by Andrew Gerle and Eddie Sugarman
Lyrics by Eddie Sugarman
Music by Andrew Gerle

Party Come Here
Book by Daniel Goldfarb
Music and Lyrics by David Kirshenbaum

River’s End
Book and Lyrics by Cheri Coons
Music by Chuck Larkin

According to an festival spokesperson, last year's event directly led to five of the eight shows securing productions. They were: The Drowsy Chaperone (to be done at the Ahmanson Theatre, November 2005), The Flight of the Lawnchair Man (Goodspeed Musicals, May 2005), The Girl in the Frame (Goodspeed Musicals, November 2005), Striking 12 (TheatreWorks Palo Alto, December 2004) and Winesburg, OH (The Arden Theatre Company, October 2005).

The festival is funded by contributions to NAMT, a not-for-profit organization, and is supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts, which believes that a great nation deserves great art, and by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts, a State agency.

A Sept. 25 Songwriter Showcase will be hosted by Rachel Sheinkin, Tony Award winner for Best Book of a Musical for The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee and a writer of Striking 12.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!