Linney, Close, Washington and Langella Among Satellite Award Nominees

News   Linney, Close, Washington and Langella Among Satellite Award Nominees
Stage actors Frank Langella, Denzel Washington, Glenn Close and Laura Linney are among the nominees for the International Press Association's 12th annual Satellite Awards.

The awards, which honor work in film, television, DVD and new media, will be presented Dec. 16 at the InterContinental Hotel.

The film adaptation of Hairspray finds itself nominated along such movies as "Juno," "Shoot 'Em Up," "Lars and the Real Girl," "Knocked Up" and "Margot at the Wedding" for best comedy or musical. "Hairspray" is also nominated in the best original song category for Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman's "Come So Far."

Broadway veteran and Oscar-nominated director Sidney Lumet is nominated for his directorial work on "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead." Tony winner Frank Langella of "Starting Out in the Evening" is nominated alongside Denzel Washington for "American Gangster" in the best performance in a dramatic motion picture category; that category also includes Christian Bale ("Rescue Dawn"), Tommy Lee Jones ("In the Valley of Elah"), Josh Brolin ("No Country for Old Men") and Viggo Mortensen ("Eastern Promises").

Upcoming Les Liaisons Dangereuses star Laura Linney is nominated for best performance in a dramatic motion picture for "The Savages," contending with Julie Christie ("Away From Her"), Angelina Jolie ("A Mighty Heart"), Marion Cotillard ("La Vie en rose"), Tilda Swinton ("Stephanie Daley") and Keira Knightley ("Atonement").

Nicole Kidman ("Margot at the Wedding") is one of the nominees for best actress in a comedy or musical; she'll vie for the award in a field that also includes Katherine Heigl ("Knocked Up"), Amy Adams ("Enchanted"), Ellen Page ("Juno"), Emily Mortimer ("Lars and the Real Girl") and Cate Blanchett ("I’m Not There"). For best actor in a comedy or musical, Ben Kingsley ("You Kill Me") and Richard Gere ("The Hoax") compete with Seth Rogen ("Knocked Up"), Ryan Gosling ("Lars and the Real Girl"), Clive Owen ("Shoot 'Em Up") and Don Cheadle ("Talk to Me").

Also among the 49 categories, Ellen Burstyn is nominated for "Mitch Albom's For One More Day" in the best actress in a miniseries or television motion picture category, while Vanessa Williams ("Ugly Betty"), Judy Davis ("The Starter Wife") Chandra Wilson ("Grey’s Anatomy"), Polly Bergen ("Desperate Housewives"), Rachel Griffiths ("Brothers and Sisters") and Jamie Pressly ("My Name Is Earl") received best supporting nominations. T.R. Knight ("Grey's Anatomy"), Justin Kirk ("Weeds") and David Zayas ("Dexter") square off in the men's supporting category.

Sally Field ("Brothers and Sisters"), Glenn Close ("Damages"), Jeanne Tripplehorn ("Big Love"), Kyra Sedgwick ("The Closer") are included in the best actress in a dramatic television series, while Eddie Izzard ("The Riches"), Michael C. Hall ("Dexter") and James Woods ("Shark") compete in the best actor category.

For best actor in a comedy series, Alec Baldwin ("30 Rock") leads the men's nominations, with America Ferrerra ("Ugly Betty), Felicity Huffman ("Desperate Housewives"), Anna Friel ("Pushing Daisies"), and Patricia Heaton ("Back to You") rounding out the best actress in a comedy or musical series category.

Kathy Bates will receive the Mary Pickford Award for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to the Entertainment Industry.

For a complete list of nominees and categories, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: