Lisa O'Hare and David Andrew Macdonald Will Star in North Shore Sound of Music | Playbill

News Lisa O'Hare and David Andrew Macdonald Will Star in North Shore Sound of Music
Casting has been announced for the North Shore Music Theatre's upcoming production of the classic Rodgers and Hammerstein musical The Sound of Music, which will begin previews at the Massachusetts venue June 11 prior to an official opening the following night.

Directed and choreographed by James Brennan, performances will continue through June 23.

The cast will be led by Lisa O'Hare as Maria Rainer and David Andrew Macdonald as Captain Georg von Trapp. They will be joined by Suzanne Ishee (Mother Abbess), James Beaman (Max Detweiller), Jacquelynne Fontaine (Elsa Schrader), Deidre Haren (Liesl von Trapp), Andrew Tighe (Rolf Gruber) and Osborn Focht (Herr Zeller).

Several local performers will play Captain von Trapp’s younger children: 12-year-old Newburyport resident Maggie Budzyna (Louisa von Trapp), 14-year-old Gloucester resident Giacomo Favazza (Kurt von Trapp), 8-year-old Lynnfield resident Paige Catherine Martino (Gretl von Trapp), 14-year-old Reading resident Kyle Mungenast (Friedrich von Trapp), 6-year-old Winthrop resident Haven Pereira (Marta von Trapp) and 12-year-old South Hamilton resident Bryn Smith (Brigita von Trapp).

The 28-member cast also includes Leigh Barrett, Bentley Black, Maureen Brennan (Sister Margaretta), Stowe Brown, Joy Franz (Frau Schmidt), Miranda Gelch, Leah Jennings, Mark Manley (Franz), Kevin B. McGlynn (Admiral von Schreiber, Baron Elberfeld), Cheryl McMahon (Sister Berte), Edward Miskie, Ellen Peterson, Meredith Swanson and Dawn Tucker (Sister Sophia).

"When a novice nun proves too high-spirited for the religious life, she is dispatched to serve as governess for the seven children of a widowed naval Captain," according to the North Shore. "Her growing rapport with the youngsters, coupled with her generosity of spirit, gradually captures the heart of the stern Captain." Featuring a book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse and a score by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II, The Sound of Music include such tunes as “Climb Ev’ry Mountain,” “My Favorite Things,” “Do-Re-Mi” and “So Long, Farewell.” The creative team also includes Dale Rieling (music director), Jeff Modereger (scenic designer), Paula Peasley-Ninestein (costume coordinator), Michael Barnett (lighting designer), Charles Coes (sound designer), Gerard Kelly (wig and hair designer), John Godbout (production stage manager), Binder Casting (casting), Phill Madore (assistant stage manager), Ben Krauss (assistant music director), Karen Maria Pisani (children's local choreographer) and Cassandra Marsh (children's local music director).

The Sound of Music is produced at North Shore Music Theatre by Bill Hanney (owner/producer), Arianna Knapp (artistic director) and Beth Vasta (associate producer).

For tickets and information call (978) 232-7200, visit, or visit the box office in person at 62 Dunham Rd., Beverly, MA.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!