Lucille Lortel Award Winners Announced; Doubt Tops List With 4 Awards

News   Lucille Lortel Award Winners Announced; Doubt Tops List With 4 Awards
The 20th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off Broadway, hosted by Bruce Vilanch and Julie Halston, were presented May 2 at Dodger Stages in midtown Manhattan.
Doubt, starring Cherry Jones, won 4 Lucille Lortel Awards
Doubt, starring Cherry Jones, won 4 Lucille Lortel Awards Photo by Joan Marcus

John Patrick Shanley's Doubt was the most-honored production of the season, receiving four awards, including Outstanding Play, Outstanding Director (Doug Hughes), Outstanding Lead Actress (Cherry Jones) and Outstanding Featured Actress (Adriane Lenox). The latter award was a three-way tie between Lenox, Jenn Harris (Modern Orthodox) and Parker Posey (Hurlyburly).

Other multiple award winners included The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (Outstanding Musical and Outstanding Featured Actor), Counsellor-At-Law (Outstanding Revival and Outstanding Lead Actor), Intimate Apparel (Outstanding Scenic Design and Outstanding Costume Design) and Nine Parts of Desire (Outstanding Solo Show and Outstanding Sound Design).

Frances Sternhagen, on Broadway this season in Steel Magnolias, was awarded the Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence, and the Irish Repertory Theatre received an award for Outstanding Body of Work.

The Lortel Awards — named for the late actress-producer and arts advocate who embraced new and foreign voices in the mid-20th century — were created in 1985 to recognize outstanding achievement on Off Broadway stages.

The 2005 Lucille Lortel nominees and winners are listed below, with winners indicated in bold and with an asterisk. Outstanding Play:
After Ashley
Going to St. Ives
Intimate Apparel
Orson's Shadow

Outstanding Musical
Altar Boyz
Junie B. Jones
Lone Star Love
*The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Outstanding Solo Show
*Nine Parts of Desire
The Two and Only

Outstanding Revival
Finian's Rainbow
Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Director
Jo Bonney, Fat Pig
Scott Elliott, Hurlyburly
*Doug Hughes, Doubt
James Lapine, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Daniel Sullivan, Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Choreographer
*Christopher Gattelli, Altar Boyz
Devanand Janki, Junie B. Jones
Dan Knechtges, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Barry McNabb, Finian's Rainbow
Randy Skinner, Lone Star Love

Outstanding Lead Actor
Larry Bryggman, Romance
Ethan Hawke, Hurlyburly
Brían F. O‚Byrne, Doubt
*John Rubinstein, Counsellor-At-Law
Jeffrey Wright, This Is How It Goes

Outstanding Lead Actress
Ashlie Atkinson, Fat Pig
Viola Davis, Intimate Apparel
*Cherry Jones, Doubt
Judy Kaye, Souvenir
Elizabeth Marvel, Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Featured Actor
Kevin Cahoon, The Foreigner
*Dan Fogler, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Josh Hamilton, Hurlyburly
Logan Marshall-Green, The Distance From Here
Tyler Maynard, Altar Boyz

Outstanding Featured Actress
*Jenn Harris, Modern Orthodox
*Adriane Lenox, Doubt
Alison Pill, On the Mountain
*Parker Posey, Hurlyburly
Jennifer Simard, Forbidden Broadway: SVU

Outstanding Scenic Design
Julian Crouch & Graeme Gilmour, Shockheaded Peter
Antje Ellermann, Nine Parts of Desire
*Derek McLane, Intimate Apparel
Neil Patel, Between Us
Jan Versweyved, Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Costume Design
Alvin Colt, Forbidden Broadway: SVU
Anna Hannikainen, Slava's Snowshow
Kevin Pollard, Shockheaded Peter
Anita Yavich, Svejk
*Catherine Zuber, Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Lighting Design
Christopher Akerlind, Belle Epoque
Jules Fisher & Peggy Eisenhauer, Dessa Rose
Jon Linstrum, Shockheaded Peter
James Vermeulen, Mr. Fox: A Rumination
*David Weiner, Rodney's Wife

Outstanding Sound Design
*Obadiah Eaves, Nine Parts of Desire
Scott Lehrer, Dessa Rose
Simon Matthews, Altar Boyz
Darron L. West, Hot 'n' Throbbing
Darron L. West, The Last Days of Judas Iscariot

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: