MAC Awards to Be Presented April 25; Complete Nominee List Announced

News   MAC Awards to Be Presented April 25; Complete Nominee List Announced
The 2005 MAC (Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs) Awards will be presented April 25 at the Peter Norton Symphony Space.

The 7:30 PM ceremony will honor Mario Cantone, on Broadway earlier this season in Laugh Whore, with the MAC Board of Directors Award for Comedy. The star-studded event will also salute Keely Smith (Lifetime Achievement Award), Kenny Barron and George Coleman (MAC Board of Directors Award for Jazz) and cabaret newcomer Maude Maggart (Time Out New York MAC Award).

Directed by Peter Flynn, the annual awards will include appearances and/or performances by The Accidentals, Kenny Barron, Ann Hampton Callaway, Kim Cea, George Coleman, Chip Deffaa, Andre de Shields, Eric Michael Gillett, La Tanya Hall, Hilary Kole, Lina Koutrakos, Patti LuPone, Jeanne MacDonald, Maude Maggart, Manhattan Rhythm Kings, Karen Mason, Mark Nadler, Ron Poole, Marcus Simeone, Keely Smith, Ty Stephens, KT Sullivan, Jon Weber, Nancy Witter, the cast of Singing Astaire and Spamalot's Sara Ramirez. Angela La Greca and Sidney Myer will be the evening's Masters of Ceremonies. D.J. Bradley will serve as musical director.

The complete list of 2005 MAC Awards nominees follows:
Female Vocalist
Lisa Asher
Natalie Douglas
Barbara Fasano

Male Vocalist
Brandon Cutrell
Anthony Santelmo Jr.
Steve Ray Watkins

New York Debut - Female
Maude Maggart
Sarah Mucho
Tracy Stark New York Debut - Male
Ritt Henn
Thomas Honeck
Steven Garrett Wright

Major Engagement
Barbara Brussell
Karen Mason
Mark Nadler

Stand-Up Comedy/Monology
Rock Albers
Poppi Kramer
Nancy Witter

Steven Brinberg (Barbra Streisand)
Tommy Femia (Judy Garland)
Chuck Sweeney (Peggy Lee)

Musical Comedy Performer
Fred Barton
Dottie Burman
Ray Jessell
Shawn Ryan

Vocal Or Musical Comedy Duo/Group
Marcus Simeone & Eva Ladas
The Next Big Broadway Musical
3 Tenors in Search of an Act

The Johnny Mercer Birthday Show
Singing Astaire
Timeless Divas!

Variety Production/Recurring Series or Special Production
Gashole: The Talk Show, Gashole: The Tonyshow
New Mondays
Poole Party

Piano Bar/Restaurant Entertainer
Leslie Anderson
Jenifer Kruskamp
George Sanders

Piano Bar/Restaurant Instrumentalist
Gerry Dieffenbach
Ricky Ritzel
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark

Phil Geoffrey Bond
Hope Hardcastle
Ron Poole

Musical Director
Christopher Denny
Rick Jensen
Alex Rybeck

Technical Director
Michael Barbieri
Thomas Honeck
Shawn Moninger

Recording of the Year
John Bucchino, "On Richard Rodgers' Piano"
Ann Hampton Callaway, "Slow"
Ricky Ritzel & Leslie Anderson, "Cool, Cool, Cool - Songs of Johnny Mercer"

Song of the Year
Nancy Baxter & Paul Stephan, "Elusive"
Bonnie Lee Sanders, Joel Diamond and Mila, "Friends (Laisse Moi T'Aimer)"
Marie Gentile and Caren Cole, "I'd Rather Never Know"
Ann Hampton Callaway, "My Answered Prayer"
Michael Ogborn, "Ou Apres La Guerre"

Special Musical Material of the Year
Ann Hampton Callaway, "Here Come the Callaways"
Fred Barton, "I Can Be an Icon Too"
Mary Liz Mcnamara, "I Love You Sweetheart"
Peter Lurye and Peter Yawitz, "Not Good Enough"
Ray Jessel, "The Short Term Memory Loss Blues"

Symphony Space is located in Manhattan at 2537 Broadway at 95th Street. Tickets, priced $40, $70 and $125, are available by calling (212) 864 5400.


The MAC Awards are presented annually to honor achievements in cabaret, comedy and jazz. Visit for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: