Marcia Milgrom Dodge Goes Back to Vaudeville Roots for New Chicago Revival, Starting May 18

News   Marcia Milgrom Dodge Goes Back to Vaudeville Roots for New Chicago Revival, Starting May 18
Marcia Milgrom Dodge, the Tony Award-nominated director and choreographer of the Broadway revival of Ragtime, is placing a new revival of Kander & Ebb's Chicago in a vaudeville-theatre setting at Flat Rock Playhouse. Performances play May 18-June 12 in Flat Rock, NC.

Marcia Milgrom Dodge
Marcia Milgrom Dodge Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Playhouse is the State Theatre of North Carolina. The revival of the musical satire of American justice is set in the 1920s and told in vaudeville-style turns (ventriloquist act, female impersonator, a Bert Williams-like sad-clown song, fan dance, etc.)

Dodge said she is going back to Bob Fosse, John Kander and Fred Ebb's original 1975 script to create her production; it won't look like the current hit Broadway revival, which strips the visuals to bare essentials.

"Our characters are a troupe of vaudevillians performing the headlines of the day," Dodge said in a statement. "So, our setting is an abandoned vaudeville theatre in 1929 inspired by a photograph of the actual Chicago Theatre. Our set designer, Dennis C. Maulden, will transform the [Playhouse] so when the audience enters the space, they will feel transported back to a time of early theatrical architecture and conventions."

The production features Erin Maguire as Velma Kelly, Erica Sweany as Roxie Hart, Michael Marotta as Billy Flynn, William Thomas Evans as Amos Hart, Gwendolyn Jones as Matron "Mama" Morton and former revival cast member D. Micciche as Mary Sunshine, plus J. David Anderson, Kelli Joelle Bartlett, Ann Cooley, Desiree Davar, Aleka Emerson, Sarah Marie Hicks, Michael Jablonski, Gregory Pember, Cid Roberts, Rod Roberts and Minami Yusui.

The creative team for Chicago includes Ann Cooley (associate choreographer), George Wilkins, Jr. (musical director), Amy Elizabeth Jones (music supervisor), Dennis C. Maulden (scenic design), Janine Marie McCabe (costume design), Paul Toben (lighting design) and Allen Sanders (sound design).

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: