Martha Swope Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award Dec. 11

News   Martha Swope Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award Dec. 11
Famed Broadway photographer Martha Swope will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the League of Professional Theatre Women's Holiday Party Dec. 11.

The by-invitation-only event, which will be held at 6 PM at the Players Club, will also honor Gigi Bolt with the Lee Reynolds Award and Debra Ann Byrd with the Josephine Abady Award.

The Reynolds Award is given annually to a woman "active in any aspect of theatre whose work in this medium has helped illuminate the possibilities for social, cultural or political change." The Josephine Abady Award honors the memory of director Abady; Byrd will receive the award for her work "in supporting grass roots theatre for women, youth, and classical actors of color."

Martha Swope, who began her career as a ballet dancer, is the recipient of a 2004 Tony Honors. She has photographed over 800 shows in her decades-long career.

Gigi Bolt is the acting director of the Theatre Communications Group. She was also the director of theatre and musical theatre at the National Endowment for the Arts from 1995-2006.

Debra Ann Byrd is the founder and chief executive of Take Wing and Soar Production. She is also a producing associate at the National Black Theatre. The Players Club is located in Manhattan at 16 Gramercy Park South.


Now in its 24th year, The League of Professional Theatre Women is a not-for-profit organization that promotes visibility and increasing opportunities for women in the theatre. For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: