Mike Daisey to Open 6th Annual soloNOVA Arts Festival

News   Mike Daisey to Open 6th Annual soloNOVA Arts Festival
Mike Daisey will open the 2009 soloNOVA Arts Festival, which runs May 6-31 at the DR2 Theatre and D-Lounge, with the keynote address Why Solo Performance Matters: A Manifesto May 6 at 8 PM in the DR2 Theatre.

Daisey will also be honored as the soloNOVA Artist of the Year.

TerraNOVA artistic director Jennifer Conley Darling said in a statement, "We couldn't be happier that Mike is a part of this year's festival. He breaks out of conventional expectations of the art form and explores new and important issues to not onlytheatre but the world. It's what great artists do."

Daisey added, "Monologuists, performance artists, and solo performers of all kinds are hungry for the kind of opportunities a festival like soloNOVA creates, and I'm delighted to have been asked to talk about the unique value and position the solo form occupies in the theater as a vital force for illumination and change."

Artists featured at this year's festival will include Abena Koomson, who reconstructs Ghanaian funeral rites and explores her family roots in Cozi Sa Wala; Ryan Migge, who portrays a 17-year-old girl seeking love in Mann Seeking Man: Jesus-Lovin' Schoolgirl Seeks Soulmate; Micia Mosely, who lampoons black, lesbian lifestyles in Where My Girls At?; Haerry Kim, who offers a monologue about Korean girls forced into brothels for Japanese soldiers during WWII in Face; Leigh Evans, who performs a textural dance piece, Traces; Jeff Grow, who will make the unbelievable believable with magic and mind reading in Creating Illusion; Preston Martin, who makes the audience the show in his interactive Fun Design with Swelte; Martin Dockery, who tells stories about his family rife with secrets in The Surprise; Abigail Nessen Bengson, who explores disasters around the world in The Magic Show: The Story of the Barefoot Angels; and Aja Nisenson, who tells of her jazz journey through Italy, Piccola Cosi.

Visual artists presenting work include Kenneth Le Riche and Amy Kalyn Sims. For more information on soloNOVA 2009, visit www.terranovacollective.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: