More Tony Winners and Original "Smash" Stars Join Bombshell Broadway Concert | Playbill

News More Tony Winners and Original "Smash" Stars Join Bombshell Broadway Concert
"Smash" cast members Jaime Cepero, Brian d'Arcy James, Ann Harada, Jeremy Jordan, Donna McKechnie, Leslie Odom, Jr. and Wesley Taylor are among the latest actors to join the one-night-only Broadway concert presentation of Bombshell, which will take place June 8 at the Minskoff Theatre.

Bombshell, the fictional show from "Smash" that musicalizes the life story of Marilyn Monroe, features a score by Tony Award-winning songwriters Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman. Standouts from the score include "Let Me Be Your Star" and "Hang the Moon."

The anticipated event sold-out in record time, raising over $318,120.

Jeremy Jordan in a scene from
Jeremy Jordan in a scene from "Smash" Photo by NBC

"Smash" producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron present the starry event that will be co-directed by Joshua Bergasse and Wittman with choreography by Bergasse. It is presented as a benefit for The Actors Fund.

Cepero, James, Harada, Jordan, McKechnie, Odom, Jr. and Taylor join the previously announced Christian Borle, Will Chase, Megan Hilty, Katharine McPhee and Debra Messing.

The Bombshell ensemble will feature Yesenia Ayala, Ioana Alfonso, Emily Bindiger, Colin Bradbury, Benjamin Chavez, Dennis Collins, Neal Coomer, Alexa De Barr, Josh Franklin, Karla Garcia, Mary Gatchell, Alex Gibson, Tyrone Jackson, Reed Kelly, Jenny LaRoche, Marty Lawson, Carolyn Leonhart, Karen Lloyd, Michael McArthur, Paul McGill, Chase Madigan, Kevin Osborne, Nicole Prothro, Lillie Ricciardi, Eugene Ruffolo, Michael Ruocco, Ripley Sobo, Eric Stretch, Sarah Tolar, Jessica Walker, Katie Webber, Tatiana Wechsler and Sam Zack. The creative team includes Scott Pask (scenic elements); Carol Sherry (costume advisor); Donald Holder (lighting); Nevin Steinberg (sound supervisor); Emiliano Pares (props); Peter Nigrini (projection designs); Nathan Johnson (make up); Doug Bersterman (conductor & orchestrations); Jeff Atmajian, Larry Blank, Brad Dechter, Aaron Heick, Marc Shaiman & Jonathan Tunick (orchestrations); Scott M. Riesett (music supervisor); Russ Barmus, Mark Graham – Joann Kane Music Service (music preparation); and James Sampliner (associate music director). The production stage manager is Peter Lawrence.

Bombshell was one of two musicals central to the plot of "Smash," which gave viewers a dramatically compacted (and often overly heightened) insider's glimpse of the making of a new Broadway musical.

It's also worth noting that the famously short-lived Broadway musical Marilyn – An American Fable played the Minskoff for 51 performances in the fall of 1983.

From the casting of Marilyn, to writing, re-writing, readings, rehearsals, out-of-town tryouts, back-biting interns and opening night, "Smash" featured a host of Broadway actors for its cast, including Ann Harada, Jeremy Jordan, Brian d'Arcy James, Andy Mientus, Krysta Rodriguez and more. Numerous Broadway figures also made cameos as themselves during the series' two-year run.

Playwright Theresa Rebeck created the series and wrote the pilot for "Smash," which set the backstage story of Bombshell in motion.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!