Motown: The Musical Cast Album Will Be Released in June | Playbill

Related Articles
News Motown: The Musical Cast Album Will Be Released in June The original Broadway cast album for Motown: The Musical, featuring new renditions of hits from Motown Records, will be released June 4 by Universal Music Enterprises, has confirmed.

Brandon Victor Dixon
Brandon Victor Dixon

The cast, who inhabit such musical icons as Smokey Robinson and The Miracles, Diana Ross and The Supremes, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, The Temptations, Michael Jackson and The Jackson Five, recorded the album earlier in the week of April 22. 

Tony Award nominee Brandon Victor Dixon (The Color Purple, The Scottsboro Boys) and Valisia LeKae (Ragtime, The Book of Mormon) co-star as Gordy and Diana Ross, respectively. Gordy, who also authored the book to Motown, produces the musical along with Tony winner Kevin McCollum (Rent, In the Heights, Avenue Q) and Sony Music CEO Doug Morris.

Charles Randolph-Wright directs Motown, which officially opened April 14 at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre.

Read what critics thought of Motown here. 

The musical features such songs as "Ain't No Mountain High Enough," "Baby I Need Your Lovin'," "Dancing in the Street," "Get Ready," "I Hear a Symphony," "I Heard It Through the Grapevine," "I'll Be There," "I Want You Back," "My Girl," "My Guy," "Please, Mr. Postman," "Sign, Sealed, Delivered," "Stop in the Name of Love," "Super Freak," "The Love You Save," "What's Going On?" and "Where Did Our Love Go?" The cast also features Raymond Luke Jr. and Jibreel Mawry sharing the roles of young Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder and Berry Gordy, with Bryan Terrell Clark as Marvin Gaye and Charl Brown (Jersey Boys, Sister Act) as Smokey Robinson.

Completing the cast are Morgan James (Godspell), Saycon Sengbloh (Fela, Hair), John Jellison (Memphis) and N'Kenge (Sondheim on Sondheim), as well as Timothy J. Alex, Michael Arnold, Nicholas Christopher, Rebecca E. Covington, Ariana DeBose, Andrea Dora, Preston W. Dugger III, Wilkie Ferguson, Dionne Figgins, Marva Hicks, Tiffany Janene Howard, Sasha Hutchings, Jawan M. Jackson, Lauren Lim Jackson, Crystal Joy, Jamie LaVerdiere, Grasan Kingsberry, Marielys Molina, Sydney Morton, Maurice Murphy, Jarran Muse, Jesse Nager, Milton Craig Nealy, Dominic Nolfi, Ryan Shaw, Jamal Story, Eric LaJuan Summers, Ephraim Sykes, Julius Thomas III, Daniel J. Watts and Donald Webber, Jr.

According to producers, "Motown tells the gripping story behind the hits as Smokey finds his unique voice, Diana skyrockets to stardom and Berry fights against the odds to turn his improbable dream into a triumphant reality. The music that shattered barriers and shaped our lives finally comes to the Broadway stage in the season's most highly anticipated world-premiere event."

UME previously released  "Motown Originals: The Classic Songs That Inspired The Broadway Show!" featuring the original recordings that defined the Motown sound. The compilation, which showcases the work of the original Motown artists, was released in a single-disc and two-disc package in March.

For tickets visit


Watch highlights from Motown here!

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!