Moulin Rouge! Opens on Broadway July 25

Broadway News   Moulin Rouge! Opens on Broadway July 25
The stage adaptation of the Baz Luhrmann movie stars Aaron Tveit and Tony winner Karen Olivo.
Jacqueline B. Arnold, Robyn Hurder, Holly James, and Jeigh Madjus Matthew Murphy

The stage musical adaptation of Moulin Rouge! officially opens at Broadway’s Al Hirschfeld Theatre July 25. The Alex Timbers-directed production began performances June 28.

Aaron Tveit and Tony Award winner Karen Olivo star as poet Christian and courtesan Satine, respectively, taking on the star-crossed roles played on screen by Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman in the 2001 Baz Luhrmann movie musical.

Karen Olivo and Aaron Tveit in Moulin Rouge! Matthew Murphy

The Broadway cast also includes Tony nominee Danny Burstein as Harold Zidler, Tony and Olivier nominee Sahr Ngaujah as Toulouse-Lautrec, Tam Mutu as The Duke of Monroth, Ricky Rojas as Santiago, and Robyn Hurder as Nini.

READ: Moulin Rouge! Stars Karen Olivo and Aaron Tveit on Returning to Broadway After Living the ‘Civilian’ Life

The show, with a book by John Logan, premiered last year in Boston and incorporates original songs and pop standards heard in the film, as well as familiar tunes released in the 17 years since the star-crossed lovers first hit the screen. (Audiences can expect new takes on such songs as Lady Gaga's "Bad Romance," Sia's "Chandelier," and Beyoncé's "Single Ladies.")

Rounding out the company are Amber Ardolino, Jacqueline B. Arnold, Olutayo Bosede, Kyle Brown, Sam J. Cahn, Max Clayton, Karli Dinardo, Aaron C. Finley, Paloma Garcia-Lee, Bahiyah Hibah, Ericka Hunter, Holly James, Evan Kinnane, Reed Luplau, Jeigh Madjus, Morgan Marcell, Caleb Marshall, Brandt Martinez, Jodi McFadden, Kaitlin Mesh, Kevyn Morrow, Fred Odgaard, Dylan Paul, Khori Michelle Petinaud, and Benjamin Rivera. Ashley Loren is the Standby for Satine.

The production features choreography by Sonya Tayeh, orchestrations by music supervisor Justin Levine, sets by Derek McLane, costumes by Catherine Zuber, lighting by Justin Townsend, and sound design by Peter Hylenski. Casting is by Jim Carnahan and Stephen Kopel.

An Original Broadway Cast Recording will be released via House of Iona (Luhrmann’s label) and RCA Records this fall; exact dates to come.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: