New Dramatists Will Honor Paula Vogel and Daryl Roth with Outstanding Career Achievement Awards

Awards   New Dramatists Will Honor Paula Vogel and Daryl Roth with Outstanding Career Achievement Awards
Vogel and Roth will be celebrated at the 68th annual Spring Luncheon.
Kid_Victory_Opening_Night_Vineyard_Theatre_Paula Vogel_Daryl Roth_glikas_HR.jpg
Paula Vogel and Daryl Roth Bruce Glikas/FilmMagic

New Dramatists, the playwright development laboratory, will honor Paula Vogel and Daryl Roth—playwright and producer of the new drama Indecent, respectively—at its 68th Annual Spring Luncheon tribute May 16 at the New York Marriott Marquis.

Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Vogel and Tony-winning producer Roth will receive the 2017 Outstanding Career Achievement Awards. The event will feature performances by the stars of Kinky Boots, Killian Donnelly and J. Harrison Ghee, a performance from Indecent, and special tributes by award-winning playwrights Nilo Cruz and Sarah Ruhl and Tony Award-winning actor Cherry Jones.

“We are profoundly fortunate that these two outstanding theatre professionals have committed their careers to this art form,” says Emily Morse, artistic director of New Dramatists, in a statement. “We are grateful that their paths crossed somewhere around 1997, a fateful encounter that began a sustained and fruitful relationship between an influential American Playwright and a visionary new play Producer. In addition to celebrating their individual and combined successes, honoring them at this year's annual Luncheon tells the story of New Dramatists in a particular way...Paula and Daryl both lead by example, and it is a tremendous honor to recognize them and their contributions to our field in the company of our vital and supportive New Dramatists community.”

Each year, New Dramatists salutes individuals who have made an outstanding artistic contribution to the theatre community. Past luncheon honorees include Audra McDonald, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Susan Stroman, Seth Gelblum, Bernadette Peters, Roger Berlind, Julie Taymor, Horton Foote, Edward Albee, Harvey Fierstein, Chita Rivera, Meryl Streep, Angela Lansbury, Julie Andrews, Glenn Close, Stephen Sondheim, Arthur Miller, Neil Simon, Jerry Herman, Terrence McNally, Barbara Cook, John Kander & Fred Ebb, August Wilson, and Gwen Verdon.

New Dramatists pursues a singular mission: “to provide playwrights with time, space and resources in the company of gifted peers to create work, realize their artistic potential, and make lasting contributions to the theatre.”

Check out photos from the Broadway production of Indecent below:

The luncheon will begin at 11:15 AM with a champagne reception and continue to 2:30 PM. Tickets are $350 (a portion of which is tax-deductible). For tickets, visit or call New Dramatists' director of development, Christie Brown, (212) 757-6960, ext. 5468.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: