New Production of Spring Awakening to Play Philippines in 2009 | Playbill

News New Production of Spring Awakening to Play Philippines in 2009
The Tony Award-winning rock musical Spring Awakening will bloom anew in a fresh English-language production in the Philippines in 2009.

From top: Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater.
From top: Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater.

Atlantis Productions, which presented the first Asian production of Avenue Q, will assemble a completely Filipino creative team to mount a new production of the edgy musical penned by Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater.

Chari Arespacochaga is signed to direct the production, which will open in September 2009. Casting for the production is currently underway and will be announced in February 2009.

"It's always been exciting for us at Atlantis Productions to put young, new talent onstage. There is a fresh and exciting energy and rawness that comes with having young ones onstage," said director Arespacochaga in a statement. "That being said, Spring Awakening is also a very demanding show that needs not just amazing singers and actors but very brave ones. I am hoping that we find these kinds of young performers and end up with an exciting mix of actors from different backgrounds and levels of experience."

Spring Awakening's Philippines bow will be produced through a special arrangement with Ira Pittelman, Tom Hulce, Jeffrey Richards and Jerry Frankel.

The Broadway production of Spring Awakening, which earned accolades for its unconventional structure and staging, will conclude its run at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre Jan. 18, 2009. In addition to the current U.S. national tour, international productions of Spring Awakening are planned for London, Vienna, Toronto, Helsinki and Seoul for 2009. Based on the 1891 play by Frank Wedekind, Spring Awakening won eight 2007 Tony Awards, including Best Musical. The original Broadway production of Spring Awakening features direction by Michael Mayer, choreography by Bill T. Jones, book and lyrics by Steven Sater and a score by Duncan Sheik.

Songs featured in the Tony-winning score are "All That's Known," "And Then There Were None," "Blue Wind/Don't Do Sadness," "Left Behind," "Mamma Who Bore Me," "My Junk, "The Bitch of Living," "The Dark I Know Well," "The Guilty Ones," "The Song of Purple Summer," "The Word of Your Body," "Those You've Known," "Totally Fucked," "Touch Me," "Whispering" and "The Mirror-Blue Night."

For further information visit SpringAwakening.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!