Nightlife Awards, Honoring Maureen McGovern, Presented Jan. 29

News   Nightlife Awards, Honoring Maureen McGovern, Presented Jan. 29
The 2007 Nightlife Awards — honoring the best in New York cabaret, comedy and jazz — will be presented Jan. 29 at Town Hall. Little Women's Maureen McGovern, who will perform, will receive the Nightlife Legend Award.
Actress and singer Maureen McGovern
Actress and singer Maureen McGovern

The annual event will also feature performances by Christine Ebersole, John Pizzarelli, Jessica Molaskey, Freddy Cole, Paula West, Judy Gold, Tom Wopat, Rupert Holmes, Laurel Masse, Larry Gatlin, Daniel Reichard, Charles Busch and Ben Riley's Monk Legacy Septet.

The evening will be hosted by cabaret critic-producer Scott Siegel. Instead of offering acceptance speeches, winners of the Nightlife Awards perform.

The complete list of 2007 Nightlife Award winners follows:

Outstanding Cabaret Female Vocalist in a Major Engagement: Jessica Molaskey (Finalists: Diahann Carroll, Eartha Kitt)
Outstanding Cabaret Male Vocalist in a Major Engagement: John Pizzarelli (Finalists: Michael Feinstein, Jack Jones)
Outstanding Cabaret Duo/Group in a Major Engagement: Christine Ebersole & Billy Stritch (Finalists: Ashford & Simpson, Molaskey & Frishberg)
Cabaret Female Vocalist: Lisa Asher (Finalists: Lina Koutrakos, Karen Oberlin)
Cabaret Male Vocalist: Scott Coulter (Finalists: Patrick DeGennaro, Dane Vannatter)
Cabaret Musical Comedy/Characterization: Lorinda Lisitza (Finalists: Micaela Leon, Jay Rogers)
Cabaret Revue/Group/Variety: Tom Andersen, Scott Coulter, Tim Di Pasqua (Finalists: Eric Comstock/Barbara Fasano, Jamie deRoy & Friends)
Piano Bar: David Colbert (Finalists: Elaine Brier, Gerry Deiffenbach)

Female Jazz Vocalist: Paula West (Finalists: Carol Sloane, Annie Ross)
Male Jazz Vocalist: Freddy Cole (Finalists: Dave Frishberg, Eric Comstock)
Jazz Soloist: Cedar Walton (Finalists: Paul Motian, Toots Thielemans)
Jazz Combo: Ben Riley’s Monk Legacy Band (Finalists: Roy Haynes, Microscopic Septet) Comedy:
Male Standup: Demetri Martin (Finalists: David Attell, Zach Galiafinakas)
Female Standup: Sarah Silverman (Finalists: Jessica Kirson, Lisa Lampanelli)
Comedy Unique/Group: TJ & Dave (Finalists: Nick Kroll & John Mulaney, Braunholer & Schaal)

Special Awards:
Broadway at Birdland and The Metropolitan Room: "For successfully bringing Broadway stars onto cabaret stages in quality shows at affordable prices."

Nightlife Legend:
Maureen McGovern

Tickets to the 2007 Nightlife Awards, priced at $75, $50 and $25, are available by visiting the Town Hall box office (123 West 43rd Street) or by calling (212) 307-4100. For more information go to

Today’s Most Popular News: