Nightlife Awards Will Be Presented in January 2014; Bruce Vilanch Hosts

News   Nightlife Awards Will Be Presented in January 2014; Bruce Vilanch Hosts
Emmy winner Bruce Vilanch, who made his Broadway debut in Hairspray, will host the 2014 Nightlife Awards — honoring the best in New York cabaret, comedy and jazz — Jan. 27, 2014, at Town Hall.

Presenters for and winners of the annual awards, created by Scott Siegel, will be announced at a later date. The evening will begin at 7 PM. The Nightlife Awards are unique because rather than offering acceptance speeches, winners perform. Past participants have included Brian Stokes Mitchell, Elaine Stritch, Kristin Chenoweth, Donna Murphy, Christine Ebersole, Maureen McGovern, Andrea Marcovicci, Ute Lemper and Alice Ripley, among others.

In a statement producer Siegel said, "The Nightlife Awards is the only award show devoted exclusively to promoting nightclub entertainers to a wider audience. That's why there are no acceptance speeches in this show; we want the winners to show everyone WHY they were chosen. Ever since this show began, the best and the brightest of stars have demonstrated their art to an audience totally beguiled by the rich and wildly varied array of talent that struts this stage at every Nightlife Awards show."

Tickets to the 2014 Nightlife Awards, priced at $77, $52 and $27, will be available beginning Jan. 6 by visiting the Town Hall box office (123 West 43rd Street); tickets are now on sale by calling (212) 307-4100 or by logging on to

Today’s Most Popular News: