NYMF Awards Gala to Honor Weisslers and Chita Rivera

News   NYMF Awards Gala to Honor Weisslers and Chita Rivera
Tony Award-winning producers Barry and Fran Weissler as well as Tony-winning theatre veteran Chita Rivera will be honored at the New York Musical Theatre Festival's 2010 season awards gala Nov. 14.

Fran and Barry Weissler
Fran and Barry Weissler Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Presented at the Hudson Theatre at 8:30 PM, the seventh annual NYMF Awards for Excellence will recognize achievements in writing and performance from works presented during the 2010 festival earlier this fall.

The Weisslers, who produced Chicago, La Cage aux Folles and Scottsboro Boys, will be honored for their pioneering spirit and dedication to musical theatre. Two-time Tony winner Rivera (Chicago, The Rink, Kiss of the Spider Woman) will be recognized for her lifetime achievement in musical theatre.

The gala will also include performances by Tony-winning actress Bebe Neuwirth (The Addams Family, Chicago), Joshua Henry and the cast of The Scottsboro Boys, as well as Anthony Rapp, Christine Pedi, Daphne Rubin-Vega and Michael Arden.

Also scheduled to perform from the award-winning NYMF shows are Curtis Holbrook, Manna Nichols, Theis Weckesser, Bobby Daye, Keith Varney, Devon Guffman, Robyn Corujo, Michael Thomas Holmes, Kelly Karbacz, Collin Leydon, Liz Ulmer, EJ Zimmerman, David Hein, Irene Sankoff, Matt Lutz and Nick Dalton.

The NYMF Awards for Excellence will begin with cocktails at 6:30 PM, followed by a 7:30 PM dinner and the 8:30 PM awards ceremony.

For tickets, phone (212) 664-0979 ext. 12 or e-mail Gala@NYMF.org. The Hudson Theatre is located at 145 West 44th Street in Manhattan.

Today’s Most Popular News: