Obie Awards Will Be Held in May at Webster Hall; Presenters Announced

News   Obie Awards Will Be Held in May at Webster Hall; Presenters Announced
The Village Voice has announced that the 57th Annual Village Voice Obie Awards will be held May 21 at Webster Hall.

Justin Bartha
Justin Bartha

Awards will be presented by Eric McCormack, Grace Gummer, Hugh Dancy, Jonathan Pryce, Juliet Rylance, Justin Bartha, Lily Rabe, Michael McKean, Topher Grace and Tracee Chimo.

The Voice’s chief theatre critic, Michael Feingold, who has chaired the Obies since the 2006-07 season, will become the first Obies Chairman Emeritus. The 2011-12 Obie Chairman will be Brian Parks, who is the Arts and Culture editor of The Village Voice.

Joining Feingold and Parks will be Voice critic Alexis Soloski, who contributes frequently to The New York Times, the U.K. Guardian and BBC Radio.

The four guest judges are Annie Baker, Best New American Play Obie winner in 2010 for her plays Circle Mirror Transformation and The Aliens; Anne Kauffman, accomplished director, instructor and 2007 Obie winner for her direction of The Thugs; José Rivera, two-time Obie Award winner for his plays Marisol and References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot; and Helen Shaw, a theatre critic for Time Out New York and a past Obie judge.

In a previous statement Feingold said, "I am thrilled that Brian Parks is willing to take over, despite the tremendous weight of his expanded responsibilities as Arts & Culture Editor, and I know from experience that he’ll do a wonderful job. I’m delighted to go back to my traditional role as the committee’s resident objection-raiser. It’ll be like a vacation.”  Founded in 1955 by Voice cultural editor Jerry Tallmer, The Village Voice Obie Awards annually honor the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway.

Past winners have included Dustin Hoffman, Meryl Streep, William Hurt, Morgan Freeman, Mos Def, Felicity Huffman, Kevin Kline, Nathan Lane, Olympia Dukakis, Robert Duvall, Denzel Washington, Kevin Bacon, Alec Baldwin, Kathy Bates, James Earl Jones, Joan Cusack and Harvey Fierstein.

Webster Hall is located at 125 East 11th Street. Tickets are $25 general admission and will go on sale April 18 via at For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: