Off-Broadway’s Sweeney Todd to End Run in August

Off-Broadway News   Off-Broadway’s Sweeney Todd to End Run in August
The hit immersive production will conclude its record-breaking engagement at the Barrow Street Theatre this summer.
Sally Ann Triplett and Thom Sesma Joan Marcus

The immersive Off-Broadway staging of Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street will end its record-breaking run at the Barrow Street Theatre August 26. The acclaimed London production, which began previews in February 2017 and has extended multiple times, is the longest-running musical ever to play the downtown theatre.

Company Joan Marcus

Sweeney Todd currently stars Thom Sesma as Sweeney Todd, Sally Ann Triplett as Mrs. Lovett, Stacie Bono as Pirelli & Beggar Woman, Michael James Leslie as Judge Turpin, Zachary Noah Piser as Tobias, John Rapson as The Beadle, Billy Harrigan Tighe as Anthony, and DeLaney Westfall as Johanna. The cast also includes Laura Darrell, Matt Leisy, Liz Pearce, Danny Rothman, Monet Sabel, Haley Swindal, and Drew Seigla.

Directed by Bill Buckhurst, The Tooting Arts Club’s immersive Sweeney Todd officially opened Off-Broadway March 1, 2017. The production arrived in New York City following sold-out runs in London where the show debuted in an actual pie shop.

Staying true to the production's original staging, the Barrow Street Theatre was completely transformed into a working pie shop for the show, with theatregoers encouraged to dine in the theatre prior to the performance.

Sweeney Todd debuted at The Barrow Street Theatre with original London cast members Jeremy Secomb and Siobhán McCarthy as Sweeney and Mrs. Lovett, respectively. Since opening, the show has welcomed Hugh Panaro and Norm Lewis in the roles of Sweeney, along with Carolee Carmello as Mrs. Lovett.

Sweeney Todd features music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim and a book by Hugh Wheeler from an adaptation by Christopher Bond.

Sweeney Todd is produced by Rachel Edwards, Jenny Gersten, Seaview Productions, Fiona Rudin, Barrow Street Theatre, Jean Doumanian, Rebecca Gold, and Nate Koch (Executive Producer).

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News