O'Hara, Cerveris, Testa, Rubin-Vega and Scott Celebrate "Listen" CD June 23 at Barnes and Noble

News   O'Hara, Cerveris, Testa, Rubin-Vega and Scott Celebrate "Listen" CD June 23 at Barnes and Noble
Kelli O'Hara, Michael Cerveris, Mary Testa, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Sherie Rene Scott, Holly Brook and Spring Awakening cast members will help celebrate the release of the new CD "Listen" — a collection of songs penned by the young members of Our Time Theatre Company — June 23 at the Barnes and Noble East Side.

Michael Cerveris
Michael Cerveris Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The performance and signing will begin at 4 PM in the Barnes and Noble East Side event space at 86th Street and Lexington Avenue. The afternoon event will also feature several of the Our Time kids and the organization's founder, Taro Alexander.

Our Time serves as the theatrical home for young people who stutter. The new disc features original songs penned by company members and performed by artists from the Broadway and music industry.

Sh-K-Boom records will also release the 15-track recording June 23. The CD not only features songs by Our Time members, but also performances from several of the young performers.

The recording features Duncan Sheik (Spring Awakening), Mandy Patinkin (Sunday in the Park with George), Adriane Lenox (Doubt), Michael Cerveris (Sweeney Todd), Norm Lewis (The Little Mermaid), Kelli O'Hara (South Pacific), Sherie Renee Scott (Everyday Rapture), Mary Testa (Guys and Dolls), Anthony Rapp (Rent), Adam Pascal (Rent), Daphne Rubin-Vega (Rent), Ann Hampton Callaway (Swing), Blue Man Group, Stomp, cast members from Spring Awakening, as well as Amanda Kravat, Nicki Richards, Michelle Weeks, Lucy Woodward, Daryl Hall, John Oates, John Forte, and Grammy and Academy Award-winning singer-song writer Carly Simon.

"This album gives voice to a group of children who are too-often not listened to. By validating the artistic spirit of children who have been marginalized by society, this album provides inspiration to us all, empowering everyone to have courage and recognize the value of their own unique voice. At the same time it celebrates the amazing power of listening, acceptance, and love," said Our Time founder and director Taro Alexander in a statement. The track listing for "Listen" follows:

"All I Want Is Love" (By Andre Gillyard). Performed by Holly Brook, Duncan Sheik and original cast members from Spring Awakening.

"You Don’t Know Hurt" (By Linda Gjonbalaj). Performed by Carly Simon and Lucy Woodward.

"Nothing In This World" (By Dashawn Taylor). Performed by Daryl Hall and John Oates.

"Breathe In" (By Naudia Jones). Performed by Mandy Patinkin.

"When I Am Loved" (By Dashawn Taylor). Performed by Nicki Richards.

"Perfect Place" (By Keith Russell and John Forte). Performed by Adam Pascal, John Forte, Carly Simon.

"Proud Of You" (By Isaiah Fletcher). Performed by Isaiah Fletcher and Michelle Weeks.

"Flaunt It" (By Naudia Jones). Performed by Adriane Lenox and Mary Testa.

"Our Time Made Us Loud" (By Andre Gillyard, Jonathan Greig and Keith Russell). Performed by Jonathan Greig, Andre Gillyard, Keith Russell and Stomp.

"What We Have To Say" (By Linda Gjonbalaj and Yoni Messing). Performed by Anthony Rapp.

"Let Go Of The Past" (By Nina Hersher and Alison Williams). Performed by Daphne Rubin-Vega.

"Carry On" (By Our Time teens). Performed by Sherie Rene Scott and Norm Lewis.

"Booyaland" (By Julianna Padilla and Victoria Perlman). Performed by Ann Hampton Callaway and Blue Man Group.

"Listen To Your Heart" (By Lindsay Campbell). Performed by Michael Cerveris and Kelli O’Hara.

"Magical Place" (By Our Time pre-teens). Performed by Julianna Padilla and William Gallison.

For further information visit www.ourtimetheatre.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: