Once On This Island Receives 12th Annual ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus June 19

Broadway News   Once On This Island Receives 12th Annual ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus June 19
The award is presented by Actors’ Equity’s Advisory Committee on Chorus Affairs.
The cast of Once On This Island Joan Marcus

Actors' Equity Association presents Once On This Island—the 2018 Tony winner for Best Revival of a Musical—the 12th annual “ACCA” Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus June 19 during Equity's National Council meeting. The award is the only industry accolade of its kind to honor the talents and contributions made by the original chorus members of a Broadway musical.

The ten individual recipients of the 2018 ACCA Award—all of whom were part of the Once On This Island chorus on the musical’s December 23, 2017, Broadway opening night—are Darlesia Cearcy, Rodrick Covington, Alysha Deslorieux, Tyler Hardwick, Cassondra James, David Jennings, Grasan Kingsberry, Loren Lott, T. Oliver Reid, and Aurelia Williams.

“This talented cast brings to life the culture that gives Once On This Island its distinct personality,” said 2nd Vice President and ACCA Chair Jennifer Cody in an earlier statement. “And they reinforce the messages of love and unity, which is what the show is all about. It becomes obvious when you see a show like this that everyone on that stage feels important.”


In reviewing the chorus of each Broadway musical that opened in the 2017–2018 season, ACCA considered the chorus requirements made by each production’s director, choreographer, and musical director; the caliber of technical skill used to execute those requirements; and the contributions made by the entire chorus. Members of the ACCA, all of whom have worked on a chorus contract and have seen all of the ACCA-nominated musicals during the season, cast their vote for the winning chorus.

Past recipients of the ACCA award are the original chorus members of Legally Blonde (2007), In the Heights (2008), West Side Story (2009), Fela! (2010), The Scottsboro Boys (2011), Newsies (2012), Pippin (2013), BeautifulThe Carole King Musical (2014), An American in Paris (2015), Shuffle Along, Or The Making Of The Musical Sensation Of 1921 And All That Followed (2016), and Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 (2017).

(Updated June 19, 2018)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: