Parker, O'Brien, Hughes, Margulies, Lucas to Toast Sullivan at Mr. Abbott Ceremony | Playbill

Related Articles
News Parker, O'Brien, Hughes, Margulies, Lucas to Toast Sullivan at Mr. Abbott Ceremony Mary-Louise Parker, Jack O’Brien, Doug Hughes, Donald Margulies and Craig Lucas will be among those giving tributes to Daniel Sullivan at the 2007 Mr. Abbott Award ceremony on March 26 in the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse at Lincoln Center.

Others giving tributes will include the actress-playwright Charlayne Woodard, the playwright A.R. Gurney, Roundabout Theatre Company artistic director Todd Haimes, Manhattan Theatre Club executive producer Barry Grove, casting director Daniel Swee and SSDC board president Pamela Berlin.

The award is given by the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation for lifetime achievement in the American theatre.

Sullivan — one of New York's most prolific directors — recently helmed the revival of Lucas' Prelude to a Kiss for the Roundabout Theatre Company at the American Airlines Theatre. Next season he will serve as acting artistic director of Manhattan Theatre Club when Lynne Meadow — a past Abbott Award winner — goes on sabbatical.

A favored director of such playwrights as Margulies and the late Wendy Wasserstein, Sullivan has been nominated for six Tony Awards for Direction of a Play, and won for David Auburn's Proof, which starred Parker.

His other Broadway credits include Rabbit Hole, Julius Caesar (with Denzel Washignton), Brooklyn Boy; Sight Unseen; The Retreat From Moscow; Morning's at Seven; Major Barbara; A Moon for the Misbegotten; Ah, Wilderness!; An American Daughter; The Sisters Rosensweig; Conversations With My Father; The Heidi Chronicles; and I’m Not Rappaport. His recent Off-Broadway projects include Stuff Happens, Third, Intimate Apparel, Ten Unknowns, Dinner With Friends and In Real Life, which was written and performed by Woodard at MTC.

Sullivan is known for his development of new plays. From 1984-1997 he was the artistic director of the Seattle Repertory Theater, where he directed more than 60 productions.

Past recipients of the award — named after the legendary director George Abbott — have included Harold Prince, Jack O'Brien, Lloyd Richards, Rob and Kathleen Marshall and Susan Stroman.

Admission to the ceremony is a suggested contribution of $100 to the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation in honor of Sullivan. RSVP is required. For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!