Pasek and Paul, Lena Hall, and More Set for Tonight’s Obie Awards

Off-Broadway News   Pasek and Paul, Lena Hall, and More Set for Tonight’s Obie Awards
The 62nd annual ceremony celebrating Off-Broadway theatre is held May 22 at Webster Hall and will be live-streamed via Facebook.
Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
Benj Pasek and Justin Paul Dirty Sugar Photography

The American Theatre Wing and The Village Voice have announced the lineup of presenters and performers for the 62nd Annual Obie Awards, held May 22 at Webster Hall in New York City. This year’s ceremony will be live-streamed on the official Obie Awards Facebook page.

Lena Hall
Lena Hall Monica Simoes

Tapped to present awards at the celebration of Off-Broadway theatre are Chris Cooper, Rose Byrne, Edie Falco, Academy Award winners Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Jayne Houdyshell, Jefferson Mays, LaChanze, Taylor Mac, Darius de Haas, Mike Faist, J. Smith-Cameron, David Henry Hwang, Derek McLane, William Ivey Long, Emilio Sosa, Peter Barbey, and chair of the Obie judges Michael Feingold.

Tune in to Facebook Live to see performances from Lena Hall, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Katrina Lenk, Kecia Lewis, Austin Reed Alleman, Jessie Shelton, Storm Thomas, William Youmans, and Daniel Bellomy.

As previously announced, Orange is the New Black star Lea DeLaria is returning to host the Obies for the third consecutive year. Among the honorees is Paula Vogel, who is the recipient of the Obie Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Judges for the this year’s awards include Village Voice columnist Feingold, Obie and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Ayad Akhtar, Entertainment Weekly theatre critic Melissa Rose Bernardo, Obie winners J. Smith Cameron, actor Rubin-Vega, and Darius de Haas, and Village Voice theatre critic Miriam Felton-Dansky.

Flip through photos from last year’s celebrations featuring Lupita Nyong'o, Leslie Odom Jr., and more.

For more information, visit


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: