Philadelphia Orchestra Opens 2006-07 Access Series | Playbill

Classic Arts News Philadelphia Orchestra Opens 2006-07 Access Series
Tomorrow the Philadelphia Orchestra will begin its 2006-07 Access Series, which is aimed at listeners new to classical music.
This season's four 75-minute concerts, which begin at 7 pm, will be hosted by Thomas Cabaniss, the orchestra's music animateur. Each concert will feature performances of repertoire staples preceded by explanations and excerpts — and followed by a free post-concert recital or reception with the musicians.

The opening concert features pianist Stewart Goodyear (filling in for the ailing Andr_ Watts) performing Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No. 1 with the orchestra under Christoph Eschenbach.

Conductor Marin Alsop will lead the second Access Concert, which features Copland's Third Symphony, on January 4. During the third concert, on February 13, the orchestra's four principal violinists — concertmaster David Kim and Juliette Kang, Kimberly Fisher and Paul Roby — will each play one movement of Vivaldi's The Four Seasons.

The final Access Concert of the 2006-07 season, on April 26, will explore the music of Hector Berlioz, with a performance of the Symphonie fantastique led by Eschenbach.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store

Explore Classic Arts:
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!