Philly Stars Dibble, Greer, Martello, Coon, Mullen, Sugg and Pierce Are Assassins | Playbill

Related Articles
News Philly Stars Dibble, Greer, Martello, Coon, Mullen, Sugg and Pierce Are Assassins The cast and creative team for Arden Theatre Company's new production of Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman's Assassins has been announced in Philadelphia.

Artistic director Terrence J. Nolen will stage the troupe's 20th season-opener, to run Sept. 13-Oct. 21 on the Haas Stage at Arden.

In the revue-like musical, the killers and would-be killers of American presidents are conjured, revealing the underbelly of the American dream. The show began Off-Broadway in the 1990s, and didn't make it to Broadway until 2004, when it won the Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical.

The cast includes Philly stars Jeffrey Coon, Ben Dibble, Scott Greer, Mary Martello, Christopher Patrick Mullen, Jay Pierce and James Sugg (who have collectively earned 39 Barrymore nominations, nine Barrymore wins, and three F. Otto Haas Emerging Artist Awards).

The creative team includes David P. Gordon (set design), Alison Roberts (costume design), John Stephen Hoey (lighting design), Jorge Cousineau (sound design/projection design) and Eric Ebbenga (music director).

In the cast, Katie Adams is Lynette "Squeaky" Fromme; Jeffrey Coon is John Wilkes Booth; Ben Dibble is Balladeer/Lee Harvey Oswald; Scott Greer is Samuel Byck; Timothy Hill is John Hinckley; Mary Martello is Sara Jane Moore/Emma Goldman; Christopher Patrick Mullen is Czolgosz; Jay Pierce is The Proprietor; Jim Poulos is Giuseppe Zangara; and James Sugg is Charles Guiteau. Opening is Sept. 19. The Oct. 21 end date already represents a one-week extension.

For more information call (215) 922-1122 or visit The theatre is located at 40 N. 2nd Street in Philadelphia.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!