PHOTO CALL: Brian Stokes Mitchell, Harriet Harris, Sigourney Weaver at Acting Company Gala

News   PHOTO CALL: Brian Stokes Mitchell, Harriet Harris, Sigourney Weaver at Acting Company Gala
At The Acting Company's Masquerade Gala, Nov. 14 at Capitale, Brian Stokes Mitchell and Joe Benincasa, chairman and president, respectively, of The Actors Fund, accepted the Joan Warburg Humanitarian Award.

The award honors the Fund's "extraordinary legacy of providing health and human services to the entertainment community since 1882." In a previous statement Margot Harley, producing artistic director of The Acting Company, said, "The Actors Fund is the perfect recipient of the Joan Warburg Humanitarian Award named for a woman deeply involved in dozens of projects for the betterment of mankind." Previous recipients include Martin Segal, Harry Belafonte, Gerald Schoenfeld, Phyllis Newman, William Zabel, Abigail Disney and Tom Viola.

Here is a look at the event:

The evening also featured the presentation of the John Houseman Award to James Bundy, Dean of Yale School of Drama and artistic director of Yale Repertory Theatre, for "his profound commitment to the development of classical actors and a national audience for the theater." Previous Houseman Award recipients include Joe Papp, Harold Prince, Bernard Gersten, Michael Kahn, Kevin Kline, Marian Seldes, Tony Randall, Zelda Fichandler, Julie Harris and Jack O'Brien.

Presenters of the awards included David Hyde Pierce and Charles S. Dutton. The cast of the Broadway revival of Stephen Schwartz's Godspell provided entertainment. Acting Company alumnus Hamish Linklater emceed the event.

For more information call (212) 258-3111.


Founded by Oscar winner John Houseman and current Producing Artistic Director Margot Harley in 1972, The Acting Company is America's leading and most honored touring repertory theater having reached 3.5 million people in 48 states and 10 foreign countries with 136 classic and new works.

Today’s Most Popular News: