PHOTO CALL: George S. Irving Receives Oscar Hammerstein Award

News   PHOTO CALL: George S. Irving Receives Oscar Hammerstein Award
The York Theatre Company honored Tony Award winner George S. Irving with the 17th Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre Dec. 8.

The concert celebration featured the talents of Joy Abbott, Loni Ackerman, Jim Dale, Jill Eikenberry, Anita Gillette, Josh Grisetti, Michael Tucker, Jane Powell, Charlotte Rae, David Staller and Maryann Plunkett. Donald Saddler directed the performance. The Oscar Hammerstein Award, according to press notes, is "named in honor of the legendary lyricist who helped shape the American musical theatre through his collaborations with a number of different composers and writers." Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton and Joseph Stein.

Here is a look at a few of those in attendance at the Monday evening event held at The Players Club in Manhattan:

Joseph Stein
Donald Saddler
Charlotte Rae
David Staller
Tony Walton
Jane Powell and Dick Moore
Joy Abbott and Josh Grisetti
Alice Hammerstein Mathias presents George S. Irving with the award
From left: Jim Dale, Maryann Plunkett, Jay O. Sanders and Jerry Stiller
James Morgan, George S. Irving and Donald Saddler

Photos by Aubrey Reuben

Today’s Most Popular News: