PHOTO CALL: Kleban Prize Cocktail Reception

News   PHOTO CALL: Kleban Prize Cocktail Reception
Illyria songwriter Peter Mills and Calvin Berger writer Barry Wyner were awarded the 2010 Kleban Prize in Musical Theatre June 21 at a cocktail reception held at ASCAP.

Mills received the honor for most promising musical theatre lyricist, while Wyner has been named the most promising musical theatre librettist. New Dramatists administers the prize, which presents each writer with $100,000 (paid in two-year installments). The 2010 judges for the Kleban Prize were Tony nominee Craig Carnelia (Working, Sweet Smell of Success, Is There Life After High School?), Dramatists Guild Fund grants administrator Susan Drury and librettist Jeffrey Sweet (Luv, I Sent a Letter to My Love).

Here is a look at the ceremony:

The Kleban Foundation was established in 1988 under the will of Tony and Pulitzer Prize-winning A Chorus Line lyricist and book writer Edward L. Kleban. The will made provision for two annual awards, each in the amount of $100,000 payable over two years, to be given "to the most promising lyricist and librettist in American Musical Theatre."

Today’s Most Popular News: