PHOTO CALL: Lea Salonga, Jose Llana, Adam Jacobs, T.V. Carpio and More Honor Robert Lopez

News   PHOTO CALL: Lea Salonga, Jose Llana, Adam Jacobs, T.V. Carpio and More Honor Robert Lopez
Filipino-American Robert Lopez, the Tony Award-winning composer, lyricist and co-creator of Avenue Q and The Book of Mormon, was be honored with an Award of Excellence at PhilDev Celebrates Broadway: Suites by Sondheim Nov. 7 at at Alice Tully Hall.

Directed by actor and artistic director of Diverse City Theater Company Victor Lirio with music direction and original orchestrations by Tom Myron, Suites by Sondheim featured works from Stephen Sondheim's Company, West Side Story, Saturday Night, Sweeney Todd, Anyone Can Whistle, Follies, A Little Night Music, Merrily We Roll Along and Sunday in the Park with George.

"As a proud Filipino-American who both strives for excellence and loves Stephen Sondheim, I could not imagine anywhere I'd rather be than accepting the Award of Excellence given by PhilDev at a Sondheim concert,” Lopez said in a recent statement. “I am truly honored and I thank PhilDev for this very meaningful recognition.”

Here's a look at the performers walking the red carpet:

“How appropriate that we are honoring Bobby Lopez with the Award of Excellence at a concert event for PhilDev that pays tribute to iconic lyricist and composer, Stephen Sondheim,” added director and producer Lirio. “Bobby created a new genre of musical theater that has been widely celebrated by the industry and global audiences for the past seven or eight years. Just like Sondheim, Bobby brought a new voice and perspective to the theater, and his original works have made Broadway accessible to younger audiences. As a fellow Filipino, we are proud of him!”

The concert will raise funds for the projects of PhilDev, a nonprofit organization dedicated to accelerating sustainable social and economic growth in the Philippines.

The evening boasted the talents of Tony winner Lea Salonga as well as Joan Almedilla (Miss Saigon, Les Miserables); Alan Ariano (Miss Saigon, The Encounter); Emy Baysic (Miss Saigon, Mamma Mia!); T.V. Carpio (Spiderman: Turn Off the Dark); Angel Desai (Company); Ali Ewoldt (Les Miserables, West Side Story); Rona Figueroa (Miss Saigon, Les Miserables, Lennon, Nine); Lydia Gaston (The King & I, Miss Saigon); Adam Jacobs (Les Miserables, The Lion King); Jose Llana (The King & I, Spelling Bee, The Flower Drum Song, Wonderland); Deedee Magno Hall (Wicked, Miss Saigon), Orville Mendoza (Pacific Overtures, Miss Saigon); Paolo Montalban (Pacific Overtures, The King & I); Emily Morales (Lincoln Center’s South Pacific); Jennifer Paz (Miss Saigon, Les Miserables, Joseph … Dreamcoat, Jesus Christ Superstar); Diane Phelan (South Pacific, West Side Story) and company members Aaron Albano, Renee Albulario, Mary Aldousary, Angelica Lee Aspiras, Eileen Aurelia, Ester Barroso, Billy Bustamante, Leanne Cabrera, Michelle Camaya, Patricia Cancio, Liz Casasola, Karl Josef Co, Debralee Daco, Julie Danao – Salkin, Marc de la Cruz, Ma-Anne Dionisio, Ariel Estrada, Roy Flores, Albert Guerzon, Jeannie Hines, Devin Ilaw, Sacha Iskra, Joanne Javien, Brian Jose, Loresa Lanceta, Jaygee Macapugay, Mel Maghuyop, Jake Manabat, Alan Mangasser, Adam Marcelo, Jonelle Margallo, JP Moraga, Lora Nicolas, Jay Paranada, Catherine Ricafort, Enrico Rodriguez, Vincent Rodriguez III, Tony Romero, Chris-Ian Sanchez, Melissa Singson, Kay Trinidad, and Dax Valdes.

Today’s Most Popular News: