PHOTO CALL: New Dramatists Honor Fierstein with Lifetime Achievement Award | Playbill

News PHOTO CALL: New Dramatists Honor Fierstein with Lifetime Achievement Award
New Dramatists honored Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein during its 59th Annual Spring Benefit Luncheon May 15.

Friends and collaborators of the actor-playwright-librettist were on hand to celebrate the star and co-creator of the new Broadway musical A Catered Affair. Fierstein was honored with the 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award for "outstanding artistic contribution to the American theatre" at a ceremony at the New York Marriott Marquis.

Fierstein earned Tony Awards for Torch Song Trilogy (Best Actor in a Play and Best Play), Jerry Herman's La Cage aux Folles (Best Book of a Musical) and Hairspray (Best Actor in a Musical). Other works include Safe Sex, Spookhouse and Forget Him as well as film turns in "Mrs. Doubtfire," "Independence Day," "Bullets Over Broadway," "The Times of Harvey Milk" and "Torch Song Trilogy."

Here are some photos from the evening:

Karen Ziemba, Harvey Fierstein and Swoosie Kurtz

Marissa Jaret Winokur and Kerry Butler Boyd Gaines and Arthur Laurents

Leslie Kritzer, Faith Prince and John Bucchino

Harriet Harris and Swoosie Kurtz Cheyenne Jackson and Matt Cavenaugh

Leslie Kritzer and Harvey Fierstein David Pittu and Colman Domingo

Robin De Jesús, Janet Dacal, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Andrea Burns and Olga Merediz

Dana Ivey and Tyne Daly Stew

Doug Wright Jim Dale

All photos by Aubrey Reuben.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!