PHOTO CALL: The 2011 Outer Critics Circle Awards

News   PHOTO CALL: The 2011 Outer Critics Circle Awards
Winners of the 2010-11 Outer Critics Circle Awards, which honor the best in Broadway and Off-Broadway theatre, were celebrated May 26 at Sardi's Restaurant.

Presenters for the annual ceremony include Charles Busch, Julie Halston, Swoosie Kurtz and Brian d'Arcy James.

Winners were announced May 16. Top prizes went to War Horse and The Book of Mormon, which were named Outstanding New Broadway Play and Outstanding New Broadway Musical, respectively, and Other Desert Cities and The Kid, which were voted Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play and Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical, respectively.

Here is a look at the event:

There was a tie in one category: Both Nina Arianda  and Frances McDormand  were named Outstanding Actress in a Play for their performances in, respectively, Born Yesterday and Good People.

Three productions earned four awards: War Horse, The Book of Mormon and Anything Goes.

The 2010-11 Outer Critics Circle Executive/Nominating Committee includes Simon Saltzman (President), Mario Fratti (Vice-President), Patrick Hoffman (Corresponding Secretary), Stanley L. Cohen (Treasurer), Glenn Loney (Historian & Member-at-Large), Rosalind Friedman (Recording Secretary) and Aubrey Reuben, Thomás Gentile & Harry Haun (Members-at-Large).

Outer Critics Circle is the organization of writers covering New York theatre for out-of-town newspapers, national publications and other media beyond Broadway. Celebrating its 61st season, the members of the Outer Critics Circle are affiliated with more than 90 newspapers, magazines, radio and television stations, and theatre publications in America and abroad.

Today’s Most Popular News: