Pre-Orders for A Little Night Music Cast Album Begin March 4 at Nonesuch and PS Classics

News   Pre-Orders for A Little Night Music Cast Album Begin March 4 at Nonesuch and PS Classics
Nonesuch Records and PS Classics will begin accepting pre-orders at their respective websites on March 4 for the new two-disc Broadway cast recording of A Little Night Music starring Angela Lansbury, Catherine Zeta-Jones and Alexander Hanson. The album will be in stores on April 6.

In addition, each label has secured 25 show posters signed by Zeta-Jones, Lansbury and Hanson, and will be offering them on a first-come, first-served basis, for an additional $10. The first 25 web customers requesting the poster will snag them. Ship date from the labels is April 2. Visit or


The album is produced by Tommy Krasker, the co-founder of PS Classics, the label devoted to theatre music and the American popular song. The two discs will include a healthy portion of Hugh Wheeler's libretto. Music and lyrics are by Stephen Sondheim, who won a Tony Award for the waltz-kissed score in 1973.

For the new cast album, which was recorded Jan. 4, orchestrator Jason Carr expanded the eight-piece chamber-sized theatre orchestration of the Trevor Nunn-directed revival. The recording will offer 12 players.

Carr told, "I've lived with my vocal score of A Little Night Music since I was teenager (25 years or so), and could almost have scored the show from memory, so working on the show was real labor of love. My intention with this orchestration of Steve's wonderful score was to make it sound like a large chamber group rather than a reduced orchestra. I was pleased to add a viola to my original London seven-piece arrangement when we moved to Broadway, and was pleased with the opportunity to expand it a bit further on disc, in key spots, to give a greater dynamic range without damaging its intimacy or clarity." Of the decision to preserve the score in a two-CD set, Krasker told, "The challenge with Night Music — well, with any cast album, of course — was not just to preserve the score and performances well, but to capture and convey the essence of the production itself. I suggested a fairly expansive approach on Night Music, in great part because it seemed the best way to convey the emotional strengths of this production. I also wanted to make Desiree and Madame Armfeldt more 'present' on disc than they typically are — in particular because of the two charismatic actresses playing them — and that tied in nicely with an expansive approach. I think the discs will do the score and the production proud."

The new Broadway production, which originated at London's Menier Chocolate Factory, began previews on Broadway Nov. 24, 2009. Night Music officially opened Dec. 13 at the Walter Kerr Theatre.

Both Zeta-Jones, who stars as Desirée Armfeldt, and Lansbury (as her mother Madame Armfeldt) are scheduled to appear through June 20. Replacements have not been announced. Tickets are now on sale to Aug. 29.

The new cast album's track listing follows.

Nonesuch / PS Classics 523488-2

Disc One
1. Overture / Night Waltz
2. Prologue: "The night smiles…"
3. Now
4. Later
5. Soon
6. The Glamorous Life
7. Remember?
8. You Must Meet My Wife
9. "A virgin"
10. Liaisons
11. In Praise of Women
12. Every Day a Little Death
13. "The tour's over for a while…"
14. A Weekend in the Country Disc Two
1. The Sun Won't Set
2. Night Waltz II
3. It Would Have Been Wonderful
4. Perpetual Anticipation
5. Send in the Clowns
6. The Miller's Son
7. Soon (reprise) / You Must Meet My Wife (reprise)
8. "A wooden ring"
9. A Weekend in the Country (reprise) / Every Day a Little Death (reprise)
10. Send in the Clowns (reprise)
11. Last Waltz

Krasker has produced 12 albums of Sondheim music for several labels, including his own PS Classics, which he co-founded with Philip Chaffin.

This is the first Broadway revival of the acclaimed 1973 musical, suggested by the Ingmar Bergman film "Smiles of a Summer Night."

Today’s Most Popular News: