Winners of Princess Grace Awards Announced

News   Winners of Princess Grace Awards Announced
Among the recipients is Tony winner Leslie Odom Jr., who will be presented with a Princess Grace Statue Award.
Leslie Odom Jr. Monica Simoes

The Princess Grace Foundation-USA has announced the winners of the 2016 Princess Grace Awards. The organization is awarding over $1 million to artists in theatre, dance and film.

Among the recipients is Tony winner Leslie Odom Jr., who will be presented with a Princess Grace Statue Award and a $25,000 cash prize. The Statue Award is given to past winners who distinguish themselves in their field since receiving their initial award. 2016 Bessie-nominated choreographer Camille A. Brown is also the recipient of a Statue Award.

<sub>Eric Berryman </sub>
Eric Berryman

The 2016 winners for theatre and playwriting are Tanya Orellana/California Institute of the Arts; Lucius Robinson/ Dell’Arte International School of Physical Theatre; Keith Wallace/ University of California, San Diego; Bruce A. Lemon/Cornerstone Theater Company; Christopher Murillo/Playwrights’ Arena; Dawn Monique Williams/Oregon Shakespeare Festival; Emma D. Stanton/New Dramatists; Honoraria: Eric Berryman/The Wooster Group, Inc., Modesto Jimenez/Bushwick Starr.

The 2016 winners for dance and choreography are Tyson Clark/Boston Ballet; Riley O’Flynn/the Juilliard School; Marc Crousillat/Trisha Brown Dance Company; Jeffery Duffy/Hubbard Street Dance Chicago; Paige Fraser/ Visceral Dance Chicago; Tamisha Guy/Abraham.In.Motion; Danielle Agami/Visceral Dance Chicago; Penny Saunders/Whim W’him; Honorarium: Chrystyn M. Fentroy/Dance Theatre of Harlem.

The Foundation has also awarded prizes in film. All the recipients will be honored at this year’s Gala October 24 at Cipriani in New York.

“We are thrilled to welcome this year’s incredibly talented Award winners into the Princess Grace Foundation-USA family,” commented Toby Boshak, executive director of the Princess Grace Foundation-USA. “Each year we enthusiastically support a passionate new group of emerging talents who will one day be at the forefront of the arts. We look forward to watching them grow as artists in the same way we have watched this year’s Statue Award winners, Leslie Odom Jr. and Camille Brown, evolve. We are incredibly proud of all of them.”

Since the Foundation’s inception, nearly 800 recipients have been awarded more than $13 million. For more information on the awards visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: