Public Theater Postpones Pirates of Penzance Gala, With Kevin Kline, Glenn Close, Jonathan Groff, Martin Short, Due to Rain

News   Public Theater Postpones Pirates of Penzance Gala, With Kevin Kline, Glenn Close, Jonathan Groff, Martin Short, Due to Rain
Inclement weather has forced the Public Theater to postpone its starry June 10 gala performance of The Pirates of Penzance, starring Kevin Kline, Glenn Close and Jonathan Groff. The event will now take place June 11 at the Delacorte Theater.
Kevin Kline
Kevin Kline Photo by Monica Simoes

The Public also announced that the June 11 Shakespeare in the Park performance of The Comedy of Errors has been canceled to allow for the rescheduled gala performance. The Comedy of Errors will resume June 12. 

The one-night-only production of Pirates of Penzance is directed by Tony Award winner Ted Sperling (The Light in the Piazza, See What I Wanna See), with musical staging by original choreographer Graciela Daniele (Ragtime, Once On This Island). James Moore is musical director.

Read's feature with Sperling and his work on Pirates of Penzance here.

The 1980 production of the Gilbert and Sullivan operetta was adapted by William Elliot. It was first staged at the Delacorte by Wilford Leach in August 1980 prior to transferring to a Tony Award-winning Broadway run in December.

In addition to Kline (Cyrano, On the Twentieth Century, "A Fish Called Wanda") as the Pirate King, the cast boasts Tony Award winner Close (Sunset Boulevard, Death and the Maiden) as Ruth, Eric Idle (Spamalot) as the Sergeant, Tony winner Martin Short (Little Me, The Goodbye Girl) as Major-General Stanley, Tony winner Anika Noni Rose (Caroline, or Change, "Dreamgirls") as Mabel, Tony nominee Groff (Spring Awakening) as Frederick, Tony nominee Montego Glover (Memphis) as Kate, Tony nominee Norm Lewis (Porgy and Bess) as Samuel, Betsy Wolfe (The Last Five Years, The Mystery of Edwin Drood) as Edith and Rocío Del Mar Vallés (Giant, Zorro) as Isabel. The ensemble includes Becca Ayers, Craig Bennett, Sarah Bolt, Alvin Crawford, Doug Eskew, Maryann Hu, Amy Justman, Justin Keyes, Orville Mendoza, Darius Nichols, Eliseo Román, Martín Solá, Asa Somers, Matthew Stocke, Frank Vlastnik and Kevin Vortmann.

Meryl Streep and Sir Howard Stringer host the evening that pays tribute to late Academy Award-winning writer Nora Ephron ("When Harry Met Sally," "Sleepless in Seattle"), who died June 26, 2012. Ephron's new play Lucky Guy opened on Broadway April 1.

The Public Theater will plant a flowering cherry tree in Central Park across from the Delacorte Theater in honor of Ephron. Stringer, Arielle Tepper Madover and Renée Beaumont serve as gala co-chairs for the event.

The Public's Shakespeare in the Park season features The Comedy of Errors, starring Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Hamish Linklater (through June 30); and the new musical adaptation of Love's Labour's Lost, directed and written by Alex Timbers with songs by Michael Friedman (July 23-Aug. 18).


PHOTO SPECIAL: 50 Years of Shakespeare in the Park at the Delacorte

Today’s Most Popular News: