Pulitzer Prize-Winning Clybourne Park Opens at the Guthrie June 7

News   Pulitzer Prize-Winning Clybourne Park Opens at the Guthrie June 7
The Guthrie Theater's production of Bruce Norris' 2011 Pulitzer Prize and 2012 Tony Award-winning Clybourne Park officially opens June 7 following previews that began June 1 on the McGuire Proscenium Stage.

Kathryn Meisle and Bill McCallum
Kathryn Meisle and Bill McCallum Photo by Michael Brosilow

Written in response to Lorraine Hansberry’s classic A Raisin in the Sun, the Guthrie production is directed by Lisa Peterson. Performances continue through Aug. 4.

The cast comprises Ansa Akyea as Albert/Kevin, Shá Cage as Francine/Lena, Emily Gunyou Halaas as Betsy/Lindsey, Peter Christian Hansen as Jim/Tom, Steven Lee Johnson as Kenneth, Jim Lichtscheidl as Karl/Steve, Bill McCallum as Russ/Dan and Kathryn Meisle as Bev/Kathy.

The artistic team includes Rachel Hauck (set designer), David Zinn (costume designer), Mark Barton (lighting designer), Reid Rejsa (sound designer), Carla Steen (dramaturg), Karen Wegner (stage manager), Michele Harms (assistant stage manager) and Jennie Ward (assistant director).

Clybourne Park, the 2012 Tony Award-winning Best Play, ended its limited Broadway run Sept. 2, 2012, at the Walter Kerr Theatre. By close, the Pulitzer Prize-winning comedy-drama about race and real estate played 27 previews and 157 regular performances.

Single tickets start at $29 and are on sale through the Guthrie Box Office at (612) 377-2224 and online at guthrietheater.org.

The cast
The cast Photo by Michael Brosilow
Today’s Most Popular News: